Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-04-2010, 10:41 PM   #81
Nicki
Sugar Plum Fairy
 
Nicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008

Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,267
I would like a greyish lavender colour for the digital clock. Between the candy pink and aubergine. A nice subtle colour. All the other things I asked so far have been just me repeating what other people said. I really would like this colour.
Run you clever boy. And remember...
Nicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 10:55 PM   #82
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,632
Sounds dreadful. Give me RGB values, and I'll put it in.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 11:29 PM   #83
Nicki
Sugar Plum Fairy
 
Nicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008

Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,267
161/135/167

Thanks Jim. It shall forever be known as dreadful Nicki lavender
Run you clever boy. And remember...
Nicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2010, 11:48 PM   #84
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,632
That's a really bad color. It hardly shows up at all.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg BadColors.jpg (42.2 KB, 47 views)
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 05:03 AM   #85
Rick Simon
Registered
 
Rick Simon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
3 Highscores

Location: Michigan
Posts: 93
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
That's a really bad color. It hardly shows up at all.  
Would it make a difference if you were using a dark, background lighting selection?
Rick Simon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 07:00 AM   #86
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
I'm not going to spend time on anything fancy, but I could change individual colors if you have a suggestion. They may seem close on some monitors, but the RGB values of these colors are really quite far apart. When I was first adding the digital clock, I was experimenting with a blue-green color that closeley matched a digital clock I had. Everyone absolutely hated the color. So I added a but more blue, and suddenly stopped getting complaints. Yet these two colors are probably the closest together of any in the current selections.  
No problem, Jim.

Dreadful Nicki Lavender does appear light when using a light and bright background, but so may some of the other colors. Sometimes a dclock/cal color may simply be too close to the background color to show up well. With 15 choices, a user should be able to pick something that looks acceptable.

Thank you for at least giving us some choices and the opportunity to voice our opinions.
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 09:55 AM   #87
Nicki
Sugar Plum Fairy
 
Nicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008

Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,267
Maybe I chose one that's too subtle. You're right Jim it looks pretty bad.

Is 119/83/108 any better?
Run you clever boy. And remember...
Nicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 10:14 AM   #88
Splashy
Registered
 
Splashy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Location: Israel
Posts: 51
Hi, just wanted to report that beta11f works perfectly on my Windows 7x64 system.

I really like the changes and they work well.

Looking forward to the next version :-)
Splashy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 11:42 AM   #89
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,632
Splashy - thanks for the report.

Nicki - that color is just about as bad. The whole point of the colors that I chose is the fact that they show up pretty well against any background color. You can use a screen-grab of the crystal and a paint program to try different colors for the font.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg BadColors2.jpg (41.0 KB, 20 views)
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 12:40 PM   #90
Nicki
Sugar Plum Fairy
 
Nicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008

Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,267
OK, we'll forget the dreadful lavenders then. Though I still might consider it for my bedroom walls. Thanks for taking the time to look into it.
Run you clever boy. And remember...
Nicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 08:07 PM   #91
Gat
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2009

Posts: 4
Hi,
With the ability to change colors of the tank I was wondering how hard it would be to be able to link this with the time on the computer so you could have the color change with the time. ie day to night. I am not sure if this can be done with ease or is a hugh project. Oh, by the way, Beta 11F is working fine on Windows XP and Vista premium 64. Have tested on both>
Gat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2010, 10:04 PM   #92
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,632
In the software business, we call this "feature creep", where one feature leads to another, and you end up never getting anything done. Right now, I need to concentrate on finishing the etched-font for the digital clock, and sending the package off to Prolific so that the cast-of-thousands can start working on all the translations, Mac version, hardcopy version, packaging, website changes, etc.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2010, 04:55 PM   #93
Gat
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2009

Posts: 4
Hi Mr. Sachs,
Thanks for the quick response. I do understand the problems with getting a program done and out on the market and was just making a quick suggesting. I love your program the way it is and think you've done an outstanding job but just thought that was an idea to maybe work on down the road.
Thanks again for getting right back to me. Keep up the good work. Gat
Gat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 02:42 PM   #94
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Minor "bug" / annoyance with the Music / Sounds feature.

I normally do not have either the music or bubble sound on.

While testing the music playback screen (for the readme file) I added some MP3s to test it.

Not only did the MP3 play, but the Bubble sound activated, too!

Anyone else getting this on 11f?
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 03:20 PM   #95
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by JohnWho:
Minor "bug" / annoyance with the Music / Sounds feature.

I normally do not have either the music or bubble sound on.

While testing the music playback screen (for the readme file) I added some MP3s to test it.

Not only did the MP3 play, but the Bubble sound activated, too!

Anyone else getting this on 11f?  
Please describe exactly, step by step, what you did.

I tried to duplicate what you said. Including starting conditions.

A. Started MA3 from the desktop icon, pressed space, clicked Music Playlist.
B. Note: I normally do not have either sound on, so I didn't touch that (didn't open Program Settings panel at all).
C. I added an MP3 to the music list (it already had 4 things in it).
D. Clicked OK (twice).

Music didn't play, bubbles didn't make a sound. (I do have the bubble column "on", by the way).

Pressed space bar, clicked program settings, and verified that neither box was checked.
I'm sure I'm missing something?
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 03:32 PM   #96
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Dale -

After adding a few MP3s, in the Playlist screen I played part of a song or two and then "OK"-ed out of the screen. I then heard both the music and the bubbles and discovered that both were now checked in "Program Settings". I, too, have the Bubble Column on.

Odd. I've just tried and I can not duplicate this. If I do, I'll make another note of it.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 10:07 PM   #97
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
** First 2 Lines Comment ** Jim, it's a bug that should be fixed.
Beta 11f, and I can't see how this could be due to Windows 7.

Originally posted by JohnWho:
Dale -

After adding a few MP3s, in the Playlist screen I played part of a song or two and then "OK"-ed out of the screen. I then heard both the music and the bubbles and discovered that both were now checked in "Program Settings". I, too, have the Bubble Column on.

Odd. I've just tried and I can not duplicate this. If I do, I'll make another note of it.  
OK, the thing I hadn't done was "Play".

I can duplicate this with the music, repeatedly and precisely, without adding or removing anything. I currently have 7 items in my music playlist - CanonGuitar.sgt plus one .mid, one .wav, and four .mp3s

Started MA3 using the desktop icon.

A. Confirm in Program Settings that "Music" is not checked.
B. Open Music Playlist, highlight anything (CanonGuitar.sgt will do), and click Play.
C. Click on OK - note that the Settings panel comes up, and the music plays.
D. Look in Program Settings, and note that "Music" is now checked.

The various other logical tests (clicking stop, exiting, etc. etc.) don't change that.

Confirmed the same behavior using the other two ways of starting MA3. Did not do any testing in windowed mode, though.

I did not ever observe the bubble sound turning on, though.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 11:37 PM   #98
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,632
Playing music turns on the Music. If the bubble sound comes on at the same time, that would be a bug.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 06:46 AM   #99
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Yes, and while I'm certain it happened, I can not repeat it.

Unless someone else reports it (or it happens again to me), I guess I'd suggest you file it away in the "quirk" file.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 06:51 AM   #100
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Uh oh - it appears 11f has expired.

While I can revert back to a previous version, it doesn't help me with the writing of the readme.

Jim - how about a quick "11f.1"?
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.