Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2008, 12:09 AM   #1
StuDisney
Registered
 
StuDisney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007

Location: WDW/Orlando Fl.
Posts: 44
Thumbs Down where is Marine Aquairum 3 Beta build.0003?

geting mesage that "beta has expired", where is build.0003?
"Our greatest natural resource is the minds of our children."

“Growing Old is Mandatory - Growing Up Is Optional”
StuDisney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 12:19 AM   #2
Ingogringo
Doc
 
Ingogringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004

Location: Mariestad Sweden
Posts: 13
Hopefully build 3 will be out in a couple of days.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg expired.JPG (6.0 KB, 9 views)
Ingogringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 12:45 AM   #3
Highlander
Registered
 
Highlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Antwerp - Belgium
Posts: 87
the same here
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups !
Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 02:54 AM   #4
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
That's the only down-side of not living in the US. ... Some haven't got up yet! - It's still yesterday over there!!!

...... They even drive on the wrong side of the road!

(Thinks! .... So do Sweden and Belgium! ) ...............
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 03:38 AM   #5
Ingogringo
Doc
 
Ingogringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004

Location: Mariestad Sweden
Posts: 13
Smile

I thought we were driving on the right side!
Ingogringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 04:04 AM   #6
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
That's right! - The right side, is the wrong side. - The left side is the right side! ... (Isn't the English language wonderful.)


.......... Come on, Jim, - we're getting bored, where's the next build?
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 04:36 AM   #7
tshooi
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 5
temporary change the date can still using the screensaver
tshooi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 07:11 AM   #8
pvernam
wobbegong
 
pvernam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004

Location: Nahant, MA
Posts: 37
Jim: Can the expiration for future betas be set for a bit more than a week (maybe even two weeks) so there's a little overlap with the next Beta? That way we can continue to use your *WONDERFUL* toy without having to set the date back (which I'd really prefer to not do, since that messes up the time stamps in the event logs (and all my systems sync their date/time with Microsoft's time server on reboot anyway)).
pvernam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 07:40 AM   #9
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,697
I'm hoping that maybe the next one will be the last beta needed to be released, or at least extremly close to it. Basically it depends on what bugs are found and how long it takes Jim to squash them. Part of that is the reporting method for the bugs found and if they are immediately repeatable. If so, then it's easier for Jim to find the cause in the code and repair it, if not it takes longer.

I don't think originally Jim expected the forum Beta tests to last much longer than a month or so. Generally speaking, the Alpha testers do a great job getting things to this point and finding 95 percent+ of the bugs that are there with the wide range of testing equipment our Alpha people have.

Mostly the Beta is for a bigger range of various equipment/software testing after the Alpha's are done to find any problems that way. The final call is of course up too Jim, but I don't expect there to be that many more Beta's needed unless some unforseen monster problem rears it's ugly head.

Last edited by Jav400; 10-20-2008 at 09:55 AM.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 11:54 AM   #10
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,911
I have updated the announcement thread to clearly indicate that Beta 2 is expired. I will update it when Beta 3 or some other solution is found. Thanks all for participating in the beta!
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 01:11 PM   #11
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,659
Later today.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 06:13 PM   #12
Rod Stiles
Hardware Engineer
 
Rod Stiles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 17
I am in Sydney Australia and we are 18 hours ahead of the US West coast. My Beta 2 expired 35 hours ago.
Rod.
Rod Stiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 06:14 PM   #13
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,659
Go get it!
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 06:53 PM   #14
StuDisney
Registered
 
StuDisney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007

Location: WDW/Orlando Fl.
Posts: 44
Just download,installed & running
"Our greatest natural resource is the minds of our children."

“Growing Old is Mandatory - Growing Up Is Optional”
StuDisney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 11:54 PM   #15
Surferminn
Senior Puddle Jumper
 
Surferminn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
74 Highscores

Location: California
Posts: 6,010
I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong here. I downloaded it from the locked thread, beta 3, a couple of times, extracted it, but each time I try to run it, it pops up "This Beta Test has expired"?! edit - the date of this beta3 last modified is 10/13/08 ??


Nothing Changes if Nothing Changes.

Surferminn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 01:02 AM   #16
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,659
Maybe the new one is not over-writing the old one. You could try deleting the old copy manually, then extract the new Zip file.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 02:04 AM   #17
Ingogringo
Doc
 
Ingogringo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004

Location: Mariestad Sweden
Posts: 13
Well you have to reinstall it, that is put the MA3Beta.scr in C:/WINDOWS/system32/ and overwrite the previous MA3Beta.scr. The directory above is the common one but it could be in another directory. Then you have to search for it. You have to do the same procedure on the 27th of October with build 4 when this version has expired.
Ingogringo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 10:06 AM   #18
Surferminn
Senior Puddle Jumper
 
Surferminn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
74 Highscores

Location: California
Posts: 6,010
Thanks. I'm back in.
Jim - Deleting all the existing betas from my desktop was the first thing I did and it didn't work, we think alike there.
Ingogringo - I didn't install beta 1 or 2, just ran them from my desktop so I was going to use your suggestion last if nothing else worked.

What I did was call up Ccleaner which is a cleaning software, selected Registry, and selected MUI Cache and it came up with lots of MA3 Beta stuff and I deleted all of them and then downloaded and this time it really downloaded it -- bars running across the screen. Before, there were no bars down running so it wasn't really downloading but apparently pointed to the old stuff already there probably because the names were the same. Not a very smart computer since it didn't look at the properties date. Thanks for the help, guys.


Nothing Changes if Nothing Changes.

Surferminn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 10:39 AM   #19
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,659
So there was no message like "A file by that name already exists. Do you want to replace it?"
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:22 PM   #20
Surferminn
Senior Puddle Jumper
 
Surferminn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
74 Highscores

Location: California
Posts: 6,010
Nope. Just my own thinking about the matter.


Nothing Changes if Nothing Changes.

Surferminn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.