Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2010, 07:11 AM   #21
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Originally posted by Dale:
Not that it's vitally important, but for completeness it would be nice if the readme.txt said what the "unregistered" limits on the fish are. Did you happen to observe that?  
Yes, I have a spot for that in my "draft" copy.

Limited to only the top line of fish, no more than 3 of each, and you need to learn how to type "testfish"?

Anything else?

Oddly, I can't find this in writing anywhere.

Perhaps I haven't searched in the right place(s)?
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 08:06 AM   #22
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by JohnWho:
Yes, I have a spot for that in my "draft" copy.

Limited to only the top line of fish, no more than 3 of each, and you need to learn how to type "testfish"?

Anything else?

Oddly, I can't find this in writing anywhere.

Perhaps I haven't searched in the right place(s)?  
I fuzzily recall that there's some mention of some limit somewhere in this forum, but (like you) I couldn't figure out a good set of search parameters.

The only thing I can find is a discussion of why the limit isn't 3 fish (total).

I suspect that only Jim can provide a comprehensive list of the Testfish limitations (or perhaps Morgan, now that he does tech support).
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 09:16 AM   #23
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
I finally figured out how to deconvolve this:

Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
If Music was already on when you brought up the Playlist panel, then it will still be on when you exit the panel, no matter what you have done with the Play or Stop buttons.
If Music was off when you entered the Playlist panel, pressing Play will turn Music on until you hit Stop. If you don't hit Stop, Music will be on until you turn it off in Program Settings or hit "M".  
Music can only be turned OFF using the Program Settings check box or toggling the M key.
Music can be turned ON using either of those, and also by using the Music Playlist Play control.

I'm not sure that helps your readme.txt efforts, but it "unconfused" me.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 09:58 AM   #24
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,628
Yes, similar to the way Show Crystal can be turned on (but not off) in the Logo Playlist.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 12:14 PM   #25
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Yes, similar to the way Show Crystal can be turned on (but not off) in the Logo Playlist.  
The (new) implementation on the Logo Playlist panel is elegant and clearly implemented.

Could the same general implementation be applied to the Music Playlist panel?
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 12:30 PM   #26
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,628
Maybe.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 01:24 PM   #27
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Yes, similar to the way Show Crystal can be turned on (but not off) in the Logo Playlist.  

I'm not seeing this ability in the Logo Playlist.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 01:30 PM   #28
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Originally posted by Dale:
I finally figured out how to deconvolve this:



Music can only be turned OFF using the Program Settings check box or toggling the M key.
Music can be turned ON using either of those, and also by using the Music Playlist Play control.

I'm not sure that helps your readme.txt efforts, but it "unconfused" me.  
Yeah, I'm less confused now, too.

Easiest to document would be if in the Music Playlist, "Play" and "Stop" only had an effect while in the Music Playlist screen.

This way, the master setting in Program Settings would not be altered either way.

However, once all the dust settles, and we have the final "this is how it will be" 11(x), I'll make the Readme reflect these things accordingly.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 02:03 PM   #29
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,628
OK, I've implemented it the same way as the LogoList screen.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 04:08 PM   #30
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by JohnWho:
I'm not seeing this ability in the Logo Playlist.  
Have you found it yet?

Turn "show crystal" off in the Program Settings, and then open the Logo Playlist panel. Presto! It warns you that the crystal isn't going to be shown unless you (click here) turn it on.

If "show crystal" is on, there's no need to say anything in the Logo Playlist panel, so you can't see it.

Rather elegant implementation.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 04:24 PM   #31
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Got it, thanks.

In that case, having that same thing happen in the Logo Playlist makes perfect, and consistant, sense.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 03:23 PM   #32
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Per your request:

Did you lose the original "Guitar" music and want it back?

First, find your MA3 folder. It's usually (on Vista or Windows 7):
C:\Users\YOURACCOUNTNAME\AppData\Roaming\Marine Aquarium 3\

Find the file named MA3Playlist.lst

Now, you have two choices:

1. If you have other music in your Playlist that you want to keep, and just want to add the Guitar music, then:
Open the MAA3Playlist.lst file with an editor
Add one new line that contains just the name of the song, which is CanonGuitar.sgt
Save the results of your editing.
When MA3 next runs, it will play the Guitar music along with all of your other music.

2A. If you don't care to save anything that might have been in your playlist (or if it's empty), then:
Just delete the MA3Playlist.lst file
When MA3 next runs, it will play the Guitar music.

2B. Actually, if you have other things in your playlist, and you want to get rid of all of them and just have the Guitar music, there's an easier way. Just "Remove" all of the other music. An empty playlist tells MA3 to play the Guitar music.

[Editorial footnote: I tried to figure out how to get 2B before any of the other stuff, but couldn't make it read correctly. Perhaps you will have better luck.]
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 03:38 PM   #33
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
OK, thanks.

I'll rework it to match the format I'm using somewhat, and put it in the "Troubleshooting" section which remains mostly as it's been in the old "readme". I didn't feel that I should change this section and other than slight phrase changes or reference to Windows 7, I've left it alone.

I'm off to find the MA3Playlist.lst file.

I do notice that even with a totally empty Playlist, if you turn Music "on", CanonGuitar.sgt will play.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 04:37 PM   #34
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Dang, just noticed you can do it within the Music Playlist screen, too.

Just choose "add" and then navigate to:

(Win XP)

C:\Documents and Settings\"your account name"\Application Data\Marine Aquarium 3\

(Vista & Win 7)

C:\Users\"youraccountname"\AppData\Roaming\Marine Aquarium 3\


and it shows up "CanonGuitar.sgt" just like any other supported music file.

Much easier.

Probably better than explaining the "edit file" method, at least in the "readme".

I would suggest that the "edit file" method be added in the FAQ info on either or both the SereneScreen and this Forum's pages though as the FAQs should provide more detail and some of these behind the scenes "tricks", in my opinion.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 08:00 PM   #35
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by JohnWho:
I do notice that even with a totally empty Playlist, if you turn Music "on", CanonGuitar.sgt will play.  
See item 2B in my writeup.

Originally posted by JohnWho:
Dang, just noticed you can do it within the Music Playlist screen, too.

Just choose "add" and then navigate to:

(Win XP)

C:\Documents and Settings\"your account name"\Application Data\Marine Aquarium 3\

(Vista & Win 7)

C:\Users\"youraccountname"\AppData\Roaming\Marine Aquarium 3\


and it shows up "CanonGuitar.sgt" just like any other supported music file.

Much easier.  
It would be if that file existed. But it doesn't get created with recent versions. Not exactly sure when that happened, but if you have that file, it's a "leftover" from some previous version.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 08:07 PM   #36
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Yeah, now that you point it out, I checked my other PC and the file is not there. Drat.

Is a blank playlist that plays CanonGuitar a bug?

@ Jim -

if you would insure that "CanonGuitar.sgt" is installed in the same folder where MA3playlist.lst and MA3logolist.lst is, it would make life easier for folks to "recover" the CanonGuitar.sgt file.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 08:15 PM   #37
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by JohnWho:
Yeah, now that you point it out, I checked my other PC and the file is not there. Drat.

Is a blank playlist that plays CanonGuitar a bug?

@ Jim -

if you would insure that "CanonGuitar.sgt" is installed in the same folder where MA3playlist.lst and MA3logolist.lst is, it would make life easier for folks to "recover" the CanonGuitar.sgt file.  
I don't consider the "blank playlist" thing to be a bug, but only Jim can tell us for sure.

At one time, the presence of a CanonGuitar.sgt actual file was considered to be a bug.

For some (interesting?) historical background, start around post #32 in:

https://www.feldoncentral.com/forums...?t=4850&page=2

Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
I do seem to recall that in very early versions I was actually copying the file to the computer. Maybe those are still hanging around on some people's computers.

Everyone should just delete CanonGuitar.sgt if found.  
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 08:27 PM   #38
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Yeah, I've now read through that.

The "CanonGuitar.sgt" playing when the playlist is blank and music is "on" is apparently a "design feature", or, as we used to call them when I worked with a software house - an "undocumented non-feature".

In any case, if that's the way it works, then that's the way I'll say it works in the readme.

In the words of some wiser-than-I man - "so shall it be, so it is written" (apologies to Yul Brenner in "The King and I").
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 09:00 PM   #39
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by JohnWho:
The "CanonGuitar.sgt" playing when the playlist is blank and music is "on" is apparently a "design feature", or, as we used to call them when I worked with a software house - an "undocumented non-feature".  
I once had a vendor tell me that their buggy software was "working as coded".

That was before "Doh!" became a catchphrase, but I'm sure I said something similar.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 10:54 PM   #40
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,628
The music playlist interface and the logo playlist interface are nearly identical internally. They both have a default file to play if the list is empty. If you delete everything in the list, exit Settings, then go back into Settings, both those interfaces should have their default filename listed. After a cursory look at the code, it's not obvious why the Logo list shows the default logo, but the Music list does not show the default music. I'll have to dig deeper, but I'm still working on the Framerate stuff.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.