Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-30-2009, 05:24 AM   #661
Wizwad
Only me...
 
Wizwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Essex, England
Posts: 2,571
I did that, but it's only a short term solution. The fan's still coughing at me every now and again.

Meanwhile, I'm intrigued at the idea of Jim installing a hose into his PC. Does this mean he's gonna have fish swimming around his household water supply now?
Mark
-----------
Intel i7 930 | Asus P6X58D-E | Corsair DDR3 1600 6GB | Palit 1GB GeForce GTX460 Sonic | Enermax ERV850EWT PSU | 1.5TB WD15EARS | LG BH10LS30 BluRay| Antec 900 Case | Acer Aspire GD245HQ 23.6" | Windows 10 Professional x64
Wizwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 05:42 AM   #662
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Try cough syrup, instead of oil....
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 05:53 AM   #663
Wizwad
Only me...
 
Wizwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Essex, England
Posts: 2,571
Very helpful, Cliff. Thanks for that!

Mark
-----------
Intel i7 930 | Asus P6X58D-E | Corsair DDR3 1600 6GB | Palit 1GB GeForce GTX460 Sonic | Enermax ERV850EWT PSU | 1.5TB WD15EARS | LG BH10LS30 BluRay| Antec 900 Case | Acer Aspire GD245HQ 23.6" | Windows 10 Professional x64
Wizwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 11:13 AM   #664
ESHIREY
Smilie Dragon
 
ESHIREY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 4,713
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Water-cooled - that's a good idea. I'll go get the hose...  
Thank you for taking the time to read this.
ESHIREY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:50 AM   #665
luv.swans
Registered Happy User
 
luv.swans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009

Location: California
Posts: 5
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Welcome to the Forum, luv.swans.

I'm currently working on new 3D models for all the fish, which will be necessary for more elaborate movements. I always dreaded doing this, and it is proving to be just as difficult as I thought it would. Also, the fan on my video card went out a couple of days ago. A new one is on the way, but for now I'm limited to just having the computer on for a few minutes at a time.  
thanks again..all you do is appreciated and hope the fan is the last hurdle you have.
it's hard enuf without the 'puter probs
luv.swans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2009, 11:56 AM   #666
luv.swans
Registered Happy User
 
luv.swans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009

Location: California
Posts: 5
Originally posted by Jav400:
Sorry to hear about your trials lately and we hope that you get through them well.

As for the updates, any time Jim has something new for everyone to see a new version will be announced in this thread. Keep an eye out there and when something shows up plenty of discussion will probably be happening as well.

As for the rest, I think I have seen you playing in our arcade at times . I hope you are enjoying the games and that they help to pass the time. That's what they are there for.

Again, best wishes for your recovery................  
appreciate your well wishes, surgery went well, but not used to typing left handed so excuse typo's etc.

arcade does help and I like it better than others I have tried

kudos to all involved in creating, tweaking or whatever else they do to make this as special as it is, also really enjoy watching framework in action.
luv.swans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 03:20 PM   #667
elchicosuchel
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2009

Posts: 1
I installed the marine aquarium 3 and I need the seria number. Can you send that to me?
Tkyou.
elchicosuchel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 03:41 PM   #668
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,895
Originally posted by elchicosuchel:
I installed the marine aquarium 3 and I need the seria number. Can you send that to me?
Tkyou.  
You can buy Marine Aquarium 3 right here:
http://www.serenescreen.com/product/
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 04:07 AM   #669
Stew2000
Registered
 
Stew2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007

Location: UK
Posts: 89
Or type TESTFISH
Stew2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2009, 05:32 AM   #670
Ad_Enuff
Registered
 
Ad_Enuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: London, UK
Posts: 96
Originally posted by elchicosuchel:
I installed the marine aquarium 3 and I need the seria number. Can you send that to me?
Tkyou.  
{I'm sure Jim would be only too pleased to issue you with a FREE Serial, maybe the master key that opens up new features that others arent able to see yet..../scarcasm}
AMD Quad CORE 3.60GHz, 8Gb DDR3 RAM, ATI RADEON HD 6570 1Gb RAM, Direct X 11 & 9.0c, Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit
Ad_Enuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:30 AM   #671
FirebrandX
Registered
 
FirebrandX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002

Location: Dallas
Posts: 4
Thumbs Up

I just upgraded to MA3 and I must say I'm quite thrilled with how it looks! If I may make a suggestion, I think it would be really neat if the fish themselves cast a murky shadow on the objects below them. I had noticed something didn't look quite right when the fish would swim near the bottom, and I realized that was the effect that was missing. Is this possible without too much technical demands?

Anyway, fantastic work! Worth every penny!
FirebrandX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 01:42 PM   #672
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,632
It's incredibly difficult. I've always solved the problem before by simply not letting the fish get too close to the bottom. If you look at a real saltwater aquarium, the light is so diffuse that any fish which is more than an inch off the floor wil not cast any shadow at all.

But with the new tank, there will be instances when the fish (and other creatures) will get right down to the bottom, so I will end up having to create a way of doing shadows.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium

Last edited by Jim Sachs; 08-11-2009 at 10:15 PM.
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 08:08 PM   #673
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
It's incredibly difficult. I've always solved the problem before by simply not letting the fish get too close to the bottom. If you look at a real saltwater aquarium, the light is so diffuse that any fish which is more than an inch off the floor wil not cast any shadow at all.

But with the new tank, there will be instances when the fish (and other creatures) will got right down to the bottom, so I will end up having to create a way of doing shadows.  
Doesn't it also apply when one fish swims closely above another fish?
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2009, 10:15 PM   #674
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,632
Where's my gun...
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 10:30 AM   #675
ESHIREY
Smilie Dragon
 
ESHIREY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 4,713
HAHAHAHAHA.
Thank you for taking the time to read this.
ESHIREY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 03:58 PM   #676
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,325
Jim... I think you could fix a lot of your problems by making the water murky. I recall diving in some pretty heavy plankton blooms where "shadows" did not exist. Or.. another simple solution would be to fix a time to the SS... like dusk
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 04:36 PM   #677
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,895
Or another simple solution. The fish don't cast shadows.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 05:29 PM   #678
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Where's my gun...  
I'm quite happy if the fish don't cast shadows at all. But if they do cast shadows, I'm confident that you'll do a comprehensive model.

On the other hand - shooting a gun underwater is not recommended.

Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 06:07 PM   #679
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,668
That last statement depends on the gun.

But I don't recommend just ramming your pistol under water and squeezing the trigger for a test.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2009, 07:56 AM   #680
Yellow Tang
YT
 
Yellow Tang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Tournaments Won: 1

Location: Germany
Posts: 729
The won't cast shadows in the night! I think a night mode would probably solve some issues...
Yellow Tang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.