Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2008, 10:21 AM   #1
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,633
Any more bugs?

Has anyone discovered any more actual bugs lately? I fixed the hole in the anemone on the far right, but all the other issues seem to be driver-related.

If you previously reported a bug that I haven't fixed yet, please refresh my memory.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:53 AM   #2
rctneil
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 239
Question

Black background on secondary screen when in window mode when using ultramon?
rctneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 11:06 AM   #3
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,897
I'm going through all the threads and flagging them with prefixes.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 01:33 PM   #4
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,897
Alright, added Prefixes and went through and tagged almost all the threads with them.

By the way, I moved a bug to a separate thread here:
https://www.feldoncentral.com/forums...ead.php?t=4482
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 01:36 PM   #5
Bob
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2002

Location: Florida
Posts: 101
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
If you previously reported a bug that I haven't fixed yet, please refresh my memory.  
It is still stealing focus when running in a window if the cursor moves over the MA3 window. Based on your earlier comment this may be as designed, but I still hope it's changed or at least made optional.

The jumping/flashing when the title bar comes and goes is still happening. Perhaps this could be turned on and off with a toggle key like wire frame mode.

Thanks.
Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 01:48 PM   #6
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,633
OK, thanks for the troubleshooting effort.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 01:56 PM   #7
Racer-X
Out for a spin
 
Racer-X's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002

Location: SF bay area
Posts: 382
Originally posted by feldon32:
Alright, added Prefixes and went through and tagged almost all the threads with them.  
https://www.feldoncentral.com/forums...ead.php?t=4394 is a Feature???
Racer-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 02:26 PM   #8
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,897
Changed it to Confirmed 3.0b2 bug.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 03:48 PM   #9
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,633
Glenn - If I could just find a way of duplicating that on one of my machines, I could work on it. I'll keep trying.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 07:36 PM   #10
Shinsa
Registered
 
Shinsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001

Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 407
When MA3 is in window, and tries to pop up front, it also causes the TASK BAR button to flash, which then causes my auto-hide TASK BAR to un-hide. The task bar then stays up until I click on the MA3 button, letting the task bar hide again. This is a minor problem, since my task bar has a lot of info on it, I like to keep it out of the way. When it pops up, and doesn't go back by itself, I need to find the offending program (many do this by the way) and click its task button to make it happy again, then the task bar will go down again.

Would be great if the aquarium didn't cause that to happen too.
Bob

"When you have excluded the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth."

_______________________________________________
Shinsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 07:52 PM   #11
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,633
So, if the Aquarium had an "Always on Top When in Windowed mode" option, would that solve your problem?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:02 PM   #12
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by Shinsa:
When MA3 is in window, and tries to pop up front, it also causes the TASK BAR button to flash, which then causes my auto-hide TASK BAR to un-hide. The task bar then stays up until I click on the MA3 button, letting the task bar hide again. This is a minor problem, since my task bar has a lot of info on it, I like to keep it out of the way. When it pops up, and doesn't go back by itself, I need to find the offending program (many do this by the way) and click its task button to make it happy again, then the task bar will go down again.

Would be great if the aquarium didn't cause that to happen too.  
Certainly something that bears fixing.

In the meantime, if (whatever your OS is) can run TWEAKUI, that has the capability to turn off taskbar flashing, as I recall.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 10:27 PM   #13
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,633
This isn't a bug, so it doesn't actually need fixing, but I can see how it might be annoying. When in windowed mode, the Alpha testers had asked that the titlebar at the top of the window disappear. In order for the Exit box to be usable, I had to make the titlebar re-appear and bring the window to the front whenever the cursor passes over it. The way Shinsa has his machine set up, this also causes some unpeasant effects with the task bar. In previous versions of the Aquarium I had built in an option to always have the window on top when in windowed mode, and I was wondering if this would be an acceptable compromise.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 11:44 PM   #14
hololo
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2007

Location: Taipei Taiwan
Posts: 43
Why Ochre Starfish can't moving?
hololo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 12:02 AM   #15
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,633
It moves.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 06:09 AM   #16
Shinsa
Registered
 
Shinsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001

Location: Fayetteville, NC
Posts: 407
An always on top option might fix it. Or a tick box for removing the window bar/frame. You don't need the X to exit, as right mouse click on the window will do that.

Or just click on the window to bring it to focus?
Bob

"When you have excluded the impossible, whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth."

_______________________________________________
Shinsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 07:05 AM   #17
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,668
I think we went over that in the early Alpha stages. Even though you don't need the "X" to exit the saver, it was determined that a right click to close wasn't intuitive enough to be the only method for exiting.

Unless Jim has changed his mind that is..............................
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2008, 11:02 PM   #18
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,897
Moved the Matrox issue to its own thread:
https://www.feldoncentral.com/forums...ead.php?t=4498
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 05:58 AM   #19
Surferminn
Senior Puddle Jumper
 
Surferminn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
74 Highscores

Location: California
Posts: 6,009
I noted this in Beta 1 and thought I'd mention it since it's in Beta 2.

When Pressing the F key, going into full screen is smooth. The screen goes blank for a second or 2 and full screen mode appears. No problem. However,

When Pressing the F key going into smaller windowed mode, the windowed screen blinks in kinda fragmented for a split second before filling in completely each time. Might be something on my computer if nobody else has happen. Sorry unable to get a shot of this fragmented split second. But easily noticeable if the windowed size is about three quarters of the full size. But since it does ultimately end up into a good working windowed mode, isn't really a problem.


Nothing Changes if Nothing Changes.

Surferminn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 10:41 AM   #20
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,633
The ease with which systems switch between Fullscreen and Windowed mode varies greatly. Factors include whether the resolution or bit depth are changing, how many windows are open, and how much RAM the video card has.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.