Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Future: Freshwater Aquarium
Notices

Old 04-01-2004, 04:19 PM   #1
vendixa
Registered

Aquarium light

Hi there. I am new here. I have a 180 litre aquarium tank with few plants in it. they are not very healthy. all i have is 2 35 watts neon tubes. do you think they are enough for my aquarium?
vendixa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 06:56 PM   #2
drfish
the Doc

Neon tubes? Do you mean fluorescent? 75 watts in a 180 litre (~50 gallon) should be ok for some plants (right Liath?) but a third tube would probably be helpful... Specifically any kind of plant grow light with full spectrum coverage... I think you're supposed to have about 1 watt per gallon for an unplanted tank, and two or three times that for a planted one...

I am not a plant expert, and this fourm is really mainly for computer fish, but there are a couple people here that can probably help better than myself...
I don't watch commercials.
drfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2004, 11:34 PM   #3
Panthera
Hygenius

I just recently read that it's 3 watts per gallon, not sure if it meant w/ or w/o plants, but I thought it meant w/ plants. If so then vendixa should have 150 watts per 50 gallon tank.
Panthera Tigris Altaica
The largest living cat in the world, the Siberian Tiger possesses both
grace and beauty. Although it spends a lot of time hunting,
its reputation as a vicious killer is undeserved ....
Panthera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2004, 08:06 AM   #4
Liath
Still here in spirit