Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > Prolific/LifeGlobe Products > Goldfish Aquarium 2 for Mac OS X
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2004, 04:45 PM   #21
ESHIREY
Smilie Dragon
 
ESHIREY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 4,712
This is true. I tell everyone that see's these programs that they are always making changes for the better.
Thank you for taking the time to read this.
ESHIREY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 06:20 PM   #22
johnblommers
The Architect
 
johnblommers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004

Location: Seattle
Posts: 756
Threads of exectution

Originally posted by JimO'Connor
I think I have a workable optimization idea for the debris to cut its computational cost by about 70%. Goldfish shipped, but that doesn't mean we're done with it. Same for MA and MAT, by the way.
Cool

While you're at it, can you take half the debris particles and let one thread of excution handle them, while a second thread handles the remaining particles? Maybe the left and right sides of the tank is possibly the way to group them.

This implementation would take better advantage of my dual CPUs and I like that Almost as much as my daily glass of beer
Reasons people don't watch Star Trek:
60% - It’s for nerds.
39% - The show’s stupid.
01% - My parents were killed by Klingons and it's still too painful.
johnblommers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2004, 06:30 PM   #23
johnblommers
The Architect
 
johnblommers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004

Location: Seattle
Posts: 756
Explain the behavior

Originally posted by feldon28
And you've proceeded to clutter this work of art with, well, clutter. Poor Eric...
OK, but why are the fish munching at my hard drive. Do they know that the file system catalog file has a bad key length? The little stinkers!

But no worries, tonight I backup the hard drive using Firewire Target Mode and my QuickSilver with its shiny new 200MB ATA/133 Maxtor hard drive. Then I will boot up the G5 using my brand new Alsoft Disk Warrior CDROM and FIX that bad key!

Maybe then the fish will find someting else to amuse themselves. To try to keep this post somewhat on topic, can anybody give us a bit of info on just how these fish are made to move as they do?
Reasons people don't watch Star Trek:
60% - It’s for nerds.
39% - The show’s stupid.
01% - My parents were killed by Klingons and it's still too painful.
johnblommers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2004, 06:08 AM   #24
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,654
Jim,

I would be glad to look at the wireframe mode if I could.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2004, 08:59 AM   #25
JimO'Connor
Mac Development
 
JimO'Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002

Location: Kenai, Alaska
Posts: 678
Maybe we could get the "Beta" removed from the forum name now? If you're asking me to post a screen shot of wireframe, that is certainly do-able.
Jim O'Connor
Order N Development
JimO'Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2004, 12:37 PM   #26
johnblommers
The Architect
 
johnblommers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004

Location: Seattle
Posts: 756
Graduation to 1.0

Originally posted by JimO'Connor
Maybe we could get the "Beta" removed from the forum name now? If you're asking me to post a screen shot of wireframe, that is certainly do-able.
Agreed Goldfish Aquarium for Macintosh has graduated to release status and gone gold, so it's time formalize that in the forum's name.
Reasons people don't watch Star Trek:
60% - It’s for nerds.
39% - The show’s stupid.
01% - My parents were killed by Klingons and it's still too painful.
johnblommers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2004, 07:26 PM   #27
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,654
Sorry for the delay, I've been very busy the last few days. "Beta" has now been removed from the title.

So where is my wireframe shot?
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 12:48 AM   #28
AKcrab
Registered
 
AKcrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Posts: 233
Originally posted by Jav400
So where is my wireframe shot?


Want more? Bigger?
AKcrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 01:55 AM   #29
Tiny Turtle
is pleased
 
Tiny Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
27 Highscores

Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 7,365
Don't forget "faster" and "better"...
Thanks to Morgan, Tiny Snapshots is up and running again with "Tiny Järvafält" as the latest addition – Go have a look and tell me what you think.

"We knew the world would not be the same. A few people laughed, a few people cried, most people were silent.
I remembered the line from the Hindu scripture, the Bhagavad-Gita. Vishnu is trying to persuade the Prince that he should do his duty and to impress him takes on his multi-armed form and says,
'Now, I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds.'
I suppose we all thought that, one way or another.
" /Robert Oppenheimer on witnessing the first thermonuclear detonation in history.
Tiny Turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 03:27 AM   #30
AKcrab
Registered
 
AKcrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Posts: 233
Originally posted by Tiny Turtle
More? Bigger? Faster? Better? Snappier?
AKcrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 04:11 AM   #31
Tiny Turtle
is pleased
 
Tiny Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
27 Highscores

Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 7,365
Of course
Thanks to Morgan, Tiny Snapshots is up and running again with "Tiny Järvafält" as the latest addition – Go have a look and tell me what you think.

"We knew the world would not be the same. A few people laughed, a few people cried, most people were silent.
I remembered the line from the Hindu scripture, the Bhagavad-Gita. Vishnu is trying to persuade the Prince that he should do his duty and to impress him takes on his multi-armed form and says,
'Now, I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds.'
I suppose we all thought that, one way or another.
" /Robert Oppenheimer on witnessing the first thermonuclear detonation in history.
Tiny Turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 05:49 AM   #32
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,654
sheesh Tiny, you forgot an Oompa Loompa.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 08:22 AM   #33
ESHIREY
Smilie Dragon
 
ESHIREY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lebanon, PA
Posts: 4,712
hehehehehe
Thank you for taking the time to read this.
ESHIREY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 11:47 AM   #34
johnblommers
The Architect
 
johnblommers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004

Location: Seattle
Posts: 756
Originally posted by Jav400
Jim,

I would be glad to look at the wireframe mode if I could.
Here is a nice big screen shot of the GA application in wireframe model. It's been heavily compressed to reduce its size so it can be uploaded. Enjoy fans!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg goldfish aquariumscreensnapz001.jpg (124.8 KB, 172 views)
Reasons people don't watch Star Trek:
60% - It’s for nerds.
39% - The show’s stupid.
01% - My parents were killed by Klingons and it's still too painful.
johnblommers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 12:51 PM   #35
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,654
I wouldn't mind the overall size being slightly smaller, I hate having to scroll to see anything, and I run at 1600x1200.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2004, 01:10 PM   #36
johnblommers
The Architect
 
johnblommers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004

Location: Seattle
Posts: 756
No problem

Originally posted by Jav400
I wouldn't mind the overall size being slightly smaller, I hate having to scroll to see anything, and I run at 1600x1200.
Here is another screen grab of the GA wireframe at 1600x1024. I've needed way less compression for this one. Of course this screen grab was trivial to make compared to the previous post
Attached Images
File Type: jpg goldfish aquariumscreensnapz003.jpg (125.5 KB, 180 views)
Reasons people don't watch Star Trek:
60% - It’s for nerds.
39% - The show’s stupid.
01% - My parents were killed by Klingons and it's still too painful.
johnblommers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2004, 11:55 PM   #37
Polcamilla
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 31
With all the screen-captures being posted, I have to ask.

My machine was set up with a screen-capture of MA (done in OS9 to avoid jaggies) as the wallpaper and Backlight running MA over it, so there were always fish, it was just a question of whether they were moving or not. Then, I switched to GA and discovered that I couldn't do a 'clean' screen capture in OSX and I couldn't run it at *all* in OS9. Is there a way to do a nice, clean screen capture so I can make a wallpaper still with the fish and prefs I like?
Polcamilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 12:33 AM   #38
johnblommers
The Architect
 
johnblommers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004

Location: Seattle
Posts: 756
How clean is clean?

Originally posted by Polcamilla
With all the screen-captures being posted, I have to ask.

Then, I switched to GA and discovered that I couldn't do a 'clean' screen capture in OSX and I couldn't run it at *all* in OS9. Is there a way to do a nice, clean screen capture so I can make a wallpaper still with the fish and prefs I like?
Can you show us an example of what your unclean screen capture in OS X look like.

The screen shots that I have posted were all made with the incredible stupendous SnapxProX available from http://www.ambrosiasw.com/utilities/snapzprox/ and while its not free it will run in trial mode for a while.

The other way to take a screen shot in Mac OS X that works with GA is to do a COMMAND SHIFT 4 and rubber band a selection from the GA application in your /Applications folder. Like this:
Attached Images
File Type: jpg picture_1.jpg (107.8 KB, 139 views)
Reasons people don't watch Star Trek:
60% - It’s for nerds.
39% - The show’s stupid.
01% - My parents were killed by Klingons and it's still too painful.
johnblommers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 01:03 AM   #39
AKcrab
Registered
 
AKcrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Posts: 233
Re: How clean is clean?

Originally posted by johnblommers
The other way to take a screen shot in Mac OS X that works with GA is to do a COMMAND SHIFT 4 and rubber band a selection from the GA application in your /Applications folder. Like this:
I go to full screen mode, and cmd-shift-3 to put a pdf on the desktop.

Interestingly, this works fine with the goldfish aquarium, but not with marine aquarium. MA ends up with big black bands running horizontally in the screenshot.

Also interesting, if you do a cmd-shift-4 then press spacebar to capture the window (the crosshairs turn into a camera) you get a messed up screenshot, too.

So i guess it's either A) Fullscreen cmd-shift-3 or B) what johnblommers said.
AKcrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2004, 09:47 AM   #40
Polcamilla
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 31
Thanks!

I was doing CMD-Shift-4 and getting messed up images. Doing CMD-Shift-3 in full-screen mode works fine!
Polcamilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > Prolific/LifeGlobe Products > Goldfish Aquarium 2 for Mac OS X



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.