Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-06-2010, 03:05 PM   #1
rctneil
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 239
Question Bezel Gap Adjuster

Hello,
I know you are currently head to tow working on the new fish models and movements but this is just a quick message to see if you have had any more thoughts on how to implement the bezel gap adjuster? If you were having any problems with how to implement it then i'm sure people on here could give you ideas and then you tell us why that wouldn't work and get those ideas refined into a workable solution.

Thanks

Regards,
Neil
rctneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 07:51 PM   #2
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
I tried a lot of experiments, then Edgar tried some, but every idea caused more problems than it solved.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 09:23 PM   #3
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,897
Could it just be Registry settings?

Monitor1LeftGap
Monitor1RightGap
Monitor2LeftGap
Monitor2RightGap
Monitor3LeftGap
Monitor3RightGap
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 09:53 PM   #4
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
That's just how to store the numbers, which is easy. The problem is what to do with those numbers in the program.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:16 PM   #5
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,897
Jog the camera left or right by that number of pixels or units.

I thought the hardest part of the bezel gap coding was figuring out how to allow you to move the "camera" with the keyboard on both screens.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 12:38 AM   #6
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
The interface that I had planned was very simple - just use the left-right arrow keys while holding down the CTRL key, and one screen would move back and forth. You'd just set it visually, and the program would remember the setting. But with panning, different resolution for the two screens, different video cards, one screen already up against its limit, more than two screens, etc., the problems grew exponentially.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 06:23 AM   #7
rctneil
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 239
OK, Thanks Jim
rctneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 11:58 AM   #8
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,897
Which is why you just put a slider in the control panel or a registry setting. Anyway.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 05:04 PM   #9
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
After spending weeks on it, I finally had to sit down and calculate the advantages of continuing. I asked myself, "How many people would buy the program if it had a bezel-gap adjustment feature, but who wouldn't buy it otherwise?" One, maybe two?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 10:00 PM   #10
henemly
asdf
 
henemly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Location: Hiko, CommieFagnia
Posts: 275
How true.
http://www.coltrain.byethost8.com
henemly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2010, 06:07 PM   #11
chillgreg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010

Posts: 1
No need to build this into your program. The latest version of ATI Catalyst allows this through the Hydravision interface.

Cheers
Greg
chillgreg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 10:54 AM   #12
philosopher
Registered
 
philosopher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004

Posts: 80
NVidia Too!

And NVidia has this feature now as well (at least for some cards). I'm going to see if I can add the proper driver for this to any of my systems. The drivers I'm currently using don't offer the option.

Here's a link from NVidia's site on how to set up the bezel gap:
http://nvidia.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/n...p?p_faqid=2667

That link came from this page about their 3D Vision features:
http://www.nvidia.com/object/3d-visi...echnology.html
Sincerely,

S. Justin Gengo
"Out of chaos comes order."
Nietzsche
philosopher is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.