Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-05-2009, 09:51 AM   #1
Thisdude08
Registered
 
Thisdude08's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Posts: 8
Smile Starfish question

Hi,

Will it be possible to have more than one starfish in the tank?
I would love having more than one.

Thanks & appreciate all the hard work going into this.

Take care,

Jim
Thisdude08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 09:54 AM   #2
rctneil
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 239
Question

Having more than 1 in the tank at once would be excellent!
rctneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 11:36 AM   #3
henemly
asdf
 
henemly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Location: Hiko, CommieFagnia
Posts: 275
Agreed, but probably won't happen
http://www.coltrain.byethost8.com
henemly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 12:43 PM   #4
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,680
Hmm, I was trying to remember what Jim said concerning the starfish. Right now it's limited to the clear area to the left, so I would say for now - probably not. Once some other things get done I think Jim is going to turn it loose for anywhere in the tank. At that point, who knows.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 01:50 AM   #5
Socrates
Sage
 
Socrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001

Location: West Hills, CA
Posts: 1,529
IT would be cool to see some other variations too.
Bat rays? We don't need no stinking bat rays!
Socrates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2009, 02:24 PM   #6
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
Yes, there will be more than one starfish available (different types, too). Each would be confined to its own general section of the tank.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2009, 10:56 PM   #7
dilligaff_2k4
Registered
 
dilligaff_2k4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009

Location: Midwest
Posts: 5
Hey Folks, newbie here, but a long time Marine Aquarium
screensaver user. First fell in love with it in WindowsPlus!,
And have been buying/upgrading ever since. Just recently
upgraded to v.3, and have a few questions...
so forgive me if this is covered in a post I haven't found....
Ive searched, honest.

Does the starfish climb the glass as it did in older versions?

The fan on my laptop sounds like its spinning fast enuff to slice
deli meat when running v.3, but doesnt running v.2x, any suggestions??
Sorry if this is the wrong place, but I saw a starfish string started.
Looking forward your answers/replies!!
dilligaff_2k4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 03:54 AM   #8
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,680
Glad that you have been enjoying it for so long, and welcome to the forums

As to the first question, no not yet, but it will later.

As for the second question, it has been discussed many times before. Your settings for the aquarium are probably over-working your system allot, and can cause you some serious problems in the long run. This screensaver is like running a game for hours on end and taxes your system unless you set it properly.

First hit the "S" key to view your stats. Then using the UP arrow key, turn your sleep settings up until your fps is somewhere around 50-60. Depending on your system components, that should keep your cpu and your video card from running flat out and generating so much heat that your fans must run to help.

Check here to maybe find some answers for general questions.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 11:51 AM   #9
luv.swans
Registered Happy User
 
luv.swans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009

Location: California
Posts: 5
Originally posted by Thisdude08:
Hi,

Will it be possible to have more than one starfish in the tank?
I would love having more than one.

Thanks & appreciate all the hard work going into this.

Take care,

Jim  
Glad you asked this, I logged on to ask same question. Have had the aquarium since it was first available, years ago, and love the starfish on the glass, miss that. I logged on to ask this very question. The comments below give me hope that it will move in this new version too.
luv.swans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:02 PM   #10
henemly
asdf
 
henemly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Location: Hiko, CommieFagnia
Posts: 275
Will beta 10e include a 'StarfishOnGlass' reg entry?
http://www.coltrain.byethost8.com
henemly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 01:35 PM   #11
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,680
Only Jim can answer for sure, but my guess at this point would be probably not.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 04:52 PM   #12
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,327
I think Jim ran into problem on how to make the starfish bend and go up the glass... Perhaps he will have an inspiration while sitting in a chair on a plane that will not bend (recline)...
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2009, 10:08 PM   #13
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
Ralph - I tried to use the wasted travel time to come up with some ideas for starfish movement, but it turns out that anger, frustration and exhaustion are not conducive to the creative process.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 10:31 AM   #14
rps
Registered
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Posts: 57
Originally posted by Ralph:
I think Jim ran into problem on how to make the starfish bend and go up the glass... Perhaps he will have an inspiration while sitting in a chair on a plane that will not bend (recline)...  

Here's an idea: rather than trying to model the starfish transitioning from a horizontal directly to a vertical surface (see fig1), perhaps you could mound the gravel against the glass (it looks like it's already done that way) and then the starfish could essentially follow a curving path that happens to start on the gravel bed and ends up on the glass. (See fig2).

Does this make sense?

~Ralph S.
Attached Images
File Type: png fig1.png (3.5 KB, 26 views)
File Type: png fig2.png (5.2 KB, 23 views)
rps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2009, 10:34 AM   #15
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,680
It wasn't the bending - it was the shadowing and several other items.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 09:26 AM   #16
henemly
asdf
 
henemly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Location: Hiko, CommieFagnia
Posts: 275
Wasn't it workin in v2.6?
http://www.coltrain.byethost8.com
henemly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 09:32 AM   #17
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,680
No - Jim pulled a trick in 2.6. If you will notice, you never see the starfish go onto the glass. It's either there or it's not. What actually happened, was to alleviate the problem of shadows and so forth; if the starfish was next to the glass where it looked like it was going to go there, it only would if you had the tank lights set to cycle. That way when the tank was dark, the starfish actually jumped onto the glass instead of slowly moving there, and you never saw it happen.

In MA3 Jim wants to actually solve the problem and let you see the starfish crawl up onto the glass. Which in effect will solve other problems as well. Once the starfish "gets turned loose" so to speak; because right now it is limited and cannot leave the area it is in; it will also be able to crawl on the 3D coral. Or anywhere else in the tank.


PS. If you want to actually see the transfer - if you are running MA2.6 and the starfish gets near the glass hit "W" for wireframe mode and manually turn all lights to dark and watch.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 04:45 PM   #18
G600
Registered
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Location: Goirle, Netherlands
Posts: 52
Smile

Originally posted by Jav400:
PS. If you want to actually see the transfer - if you are running MA2.6 and the starfish gets near the glass hit "W" for wireframe mode and manually turn all lights to dark and watch.  
Thanks very much for that hint!
Beside MA3 I still have MA2.6 installed and in the past seven years of regularly watching it I never saw the starfish on the glass, while I was sure that "starfish allowed on glass" and the automatic lights were checked. I concluded that it must be a very very rare event.
Doing as you mentioned above, after patiently waiting, I saw the starfish "jumped" onto the glass in wireframe mode; it was a sudden transfer. Then in normal mode I finally could admire it on the glass, wonderful!
Now in MA3 I can't wait for the starfish to really gradually climb onto the glass.
G600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2009, 06:27 PM   #19
henemly
asdf
 
henemly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Location: Hiko, CommieFagnia
Posts: 275
Originally posted by Jav400:
PS. If you want to actually see the transfer - if you are running MA2.6 and the starfish gets near the glass hit "W" for wireframe mode and manually turn all lights to dark and watch.  
That's interesting, never knew that. I never changed the lights, but just kept
the reg entry to 01 (StarfishOnGlass) so it stayed on the glass all the time.
http://www.coltrain.byethost8.com
henemly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2009, 11:40 PM   #20
FishHead
Registered
 
Join Date: Sep 2008

Location: Canada
Posts: 2
Frankly am not too keen to see the starfish crawls up the glass/window but randomly ACROSS the sea bed is more visually natural and pleasing I think.
Perhaps Jim would make this an option?! :-)
FishHead is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
starfish
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.