Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-13-2010, 09:26 AM   #41
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
Cliff - I know that you don't use the music feature, so the UP/DN arrow keys won't be any use to you. But I need a quick way to adjust ONLY the Aquarium sound without affecting the general system sound. An executive is listening to music, and gets a call on Skype. He still wants the music softly in the background, but if he uses the system volume or the speaker's volume knob, he also loses the Skype volume.

JohnWho - not a typo, just an oversight. I increased the limit, but forgot to change the slider. Lets make it 124, because the ticks come out even.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 09:36 AM   #42
henemly
asdf
 
henemly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Location: Hiko, CommieFagnia
Posts: 275
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
The up-down arrows adjust the volume  
Good feature, and it works well too.
http://www.coltrain.byethost8.com
henemly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 09:44 AM   #43
joltdude
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2008

Posts: 7
Unlocking the current beta

Windows 7 64bit faulted after I right click and installed the current beta build and inserted the CD for 2.6 to unlock it..

Beta 11n

Works with TESTFISH but wont unlock with the Encore CD
Attached Images
File Type: png Beta11n.png (77.2 KB, 6 views)
File Type: jpg AutoPEncore.jpg (249.6 KB, 8 views)
joltdude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 09:56 AM   #44
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
It's possible that by compiling it as a Beta, Edgar's disk-checking code is bybassed. I don't have a quick way of testing this, but the current session of Beta-testing is nearly over, and I will be posting a full Release version soon.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 11:27 AM   #45
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Jim, - Where did I suggest using the system volume, or the speaker's volume knob? - I was suggesting using your MA3 'M' button. What could be a quicker and easier way to adjust ONLY the Aquarium sound without affecting the general system sound than that, for your 'executive'? - Yes, the Up/Down arrow keys change the volume beautifully smoothly and slowly. But they aren't needed when you already have a volume slider..... How many ways to change or stop the music does an executive need?
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 11:28 AM   #46
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
The M key shuts it off completely. I just want to turn it down. My wife and I have this argument all the time. When she has the TV remote, she'll always hit Mute during commercials, while I will always turn the volume down.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 11:48 AM   #47
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Ok.....



(Thinks)..... Glad I'm not an executive, - think of all the problems they must have, watching the Aquarium whilst listening to music!

ps, You should follow the advice of your wife more. - That's what the Mute button is for.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 11:58 AM   #48
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
If I mute the TV sound during commercials, how will I know what cereal to buy?

Everyone - v11o is up: http://www.fish-byte.com/MA3Beta.zip

Some slight changes to behavior of controls in Settings. Not compiled as a Beta, so Statistics don't default to ON.

Joltdude - try this one.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 12:20 PM   #49
hayc59
Vood Child
 
hayc59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Witness Protection Program
Posts: 245
Jim, Very Nice Version and Thank You!!
I would like to report, that I have always
had a problem after using the saver and hitting 'escape'
my cursor would dis-appear for a short time, seems that issue is gone with this version??
darn gremlins..
G
r u xprinc
9.11.01
Never Forget

God Bless America

Microsoft MVP Consumer Security
hayc59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 12:57 PM   #50
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,327
I agree wholeheartedly with Cliff.. The "M' key works just fine.. that executive can find it just as easy.. and is instantaneous. Perhaps, one could tweak it by having a "music muted" indication on the screen.... the display of which one could toggle off and on in a Settings Panel.. (for those executives that have a short or long attention span)
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 01:00 PM   #51
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
Hiting M turns the music off. I just want to turn it down a bit without having to go into Settings.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 01:08 PM   #52
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,327
These updates are coming faster than I can keep up... Did I miss something in version "N"..
I notice that the "Limit frame rate" was not checked by default in this version.. I think it should be.. some folks are going to run this thing at !00% CPU without knowing about the option....
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 01:11 PM   #53
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by joltdude:
Windows 7 64bit faulted after I right click and installed the current beta build and inserted the CD for 2.6 to unlock it..

Beta 11n

Works with TESTFISH but wont unlock with the Encore CD  
What has succeeded for you in the past?

If you haven't tried this, then I suggest doing the following:
A. Get Version 10d from SereneScreen download.
B. Install it, and unlock it using the CD. **
C. Then try the current Beta.

** if step B fails, then you have a different problem from Jim's suggestion.

D. In any case, please come back and report results.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 01:25 PM   #54
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
Ralph - Limit Frame Rate now defaults to ON. This means that the first time the program is run (when there are not yet any Registry entries), it will be ON. But if you have run the program and turned it off, that position will be saved in the Registry. CTRL-R restores the default position (ON, with a limit of 90).
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 01:30 PM   #55
henemly
asdf
 
henemly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Location: Hiko, CommieFagnia
Posts: 275
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Hiting M turns the music off. I just want to turn it down a bit without having to go into Settings.  
PLEASE don't remove this feature too, its GREAT. (up/down/arrow/volume)
http://www.coltrain.byethost8.com
henemly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 01:33 PM   #56
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Agree.

As I mentioned, I've got some music that, for whatever reason, is not as loud as other songs. It is helpful to be able to easily raise the volume and then turn it back down again for another song that is louder.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 01:44 PM   #57
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,638
It will stay. Also notice that when using the arrow keys to change the volume in the Program Settings screen, the slider moves at a more reasonable rate now.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 02:57 PM   #58
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
It will stay. Also notice that when using the arrow keys to change the volume in the Program Settings screen, the slider moves at a more reasonable rate now.  
And the volume control is documented in the About panel.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 03:07 PM   #59
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,327
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Ralph - Limit Frame Rate now defaults to ON. This means that the first time the program is run (when there are not yet any Registry entries), it will be ON. But if you have run the program and turned it off, that position will be saved in the Registry. CTRL-R restores the default position (ON, with a limit of 90).  
I mentioned it only because with the release of "O" it did not. Possibly I had left version "M" with it off while trying to help Dale.
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.