Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-09-2014, 10:01 PM   #101
Nicki
Sugar Plum Fairy
 
Nicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008

Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,267
What do we know about the new tech from the consumer electronics show that promises 3D without glasses?

Unfortunately the expenses from settling my mum's estate have wiped me out financially so no new goodies for me until I get back into the workforce. But maybe a whisper in my brother's ear when he buys a new monitor for the desktop?
Run you clever boy. And remember...
Nicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2014, 12:21 AM   #102
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,558
Yes, there are several reports of companies showing glasses-free TVs at CES. Here are a couple:
http://www.engadget.com/2014/01/06/s...ee-3d-display/

http://www.prnewswire.com/news-relea...239697531.html

In other breaking news, I'm very close to having a version of MA3 with the two additional feather-duster worms for you guys to test.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 09:31 AM   #103
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,558
It still may need some polishing, but if anyone wants to test the latest version of MA3 which contains two additional featherduster corals, here it is:

http://www.fish-byte.com/MA33gBeta.scr

This is an uncompressed file, with no installer.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium

Last edited by Jim Sachs; 01-14-2014 at 12:26 PM.
Jim Sachs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 10:49 AM   #104
Andy Lavies
Registered
 
Join Date: Jun 2008

Posts: 6
I like them! Glad that they have company now. Thanks Jim.
From a damp and dreary New Forest on the South Coast of England,
Andy
Andy Lavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 10:58 AM   #105
abwolfson
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2008

Posts: 6
Jim,

I tried the MA3 beta. It showed the splash screen and crashed. I'm running Vista Home Premium. Tried downloading several times.

Alan
abwolfson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 11:15 AM   #106
patscarr
Pet Shark
 
patscarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
1 Highscore

Location: Back in Buffalo
Posts: 5,384
Looks great here.

Acer Aspire Laptop
Windows 7 Home Premium Service Pack 1 64-bit
AMD Phenom(tm) II N970 Quad-Core Processor 2.2 GHz
4 GB RAM
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4200 Series 252 MB
DirectX 11
Patrick
patscarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 11:22 AM   #107
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,558
abwolfson - what were the exact symptoms, and what video card do you have?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 11:46 AM   #108
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,878
It tries to run for about 10-15 seconds and then crashes for me.
Tried it both as MA33aBeta.scr and also tried renaming it to an EXE.Tried running it as an Administrator.
Tried both TESTFISH and my MA3 product key.

Windows 7 64-bit
Intel i7 950 quad core 3.07GHz
18GB DDR RAM
nVidia GeForce GT 240 with 1GB DDR3
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 12:03 PM   #109
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,558
Crashes in what way?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 12:22 PM   #110
abwolfson
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2008

Posts: 6
I have an ATI Radeon HD 3600 video card. What happens is the splash screen comes up on both monitors for around 10 seconds and then crashes with a Windows dialog box stating that the program has stopped running.

Alan
abwolfson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 12:27 PM   #111
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Same here. Showed SereneScreen MA3 screen for a few secs then returned to desk top.

AMD Athlon II X4 630 / 4096MB / nVidia GTX460 Driver 331.82 / Dx 11 / Win7pro64 / Dual VP920 ViewSonic Monitors.

Also. - Changing to .exe made no difference.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 12:33 PM   #112
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,558
Is anyone getting a crash on a single-monitor setup?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 12:52 PM   #113
abwolfson
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2008

Posts: 6
Jim,

I switched my system to a single monitor. I worked fine and the new feather dusters look great. When I switched back to a dual monitor extended window it crashed again as before. Something in the dual monitor coding.

Alan
abwolfson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 01:03 PM   #114
harris
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2006

Location: Missouri
Posts: 119
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Is anyone getting a crash on a single-monitor setup?  
No crashes, it's running fine on my antique Dell/Intel/Win XP/ATI Radeon HD3600 using a single monitor - a NEC MultiSync PA241W.
harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 01:05 PM   #115
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,558
Aha, that narrows it down.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 02:02 PM   #116
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,878
Dual screen here. Two 1920x1080 Acer displays.

I get black screen with Marine Aquarium 3 logo for 10-15 seconds, then a white flash and back to desktop.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 02:34 PM   #117
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,558
OK, try this one:

http://www.fish-byte.com/MA33gBeta.scr

Dual screen users, let me know if:
1. It still crashes.
2. The featherdusters show up at all on the second screen.
3. The featherdusters wave in the current and retract when a fish gets too near on the second screen.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium

Last edited by Jim Sachs; 01-14-2014 at 12:26 PM.
Jim Sachs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 02:38 PM   #118
jleslie
Engineer
 
jleslie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002

Location: London, UK
Posts: 1,269
It runs okay for me on a single monitor, but I think that's to be expected. BTW on the glasses-free 3D I got one of those as my Christmas present to me, just it's rather small...

Fuji used to do 3D cameras (W1, W3) but quit last May, by Christmas the 400+ price for the W3 had come down to 150 and then Amazon did them for 89 in their January sale, at that price it's hard to argue.

It has two cameras/lenses and a 3D rear LCD which works well. It suffers from using small CCDs as the sensors, but it's possible to get some nice shots, plus it does 720p 3D movies that work well.

Anyway, I'll leave any more on that for the photography forum, plus maybe post something...
jleslie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 02:57 PM   #119
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Ok! - It now works on my Dual screens, But....

1. It doesn't crash.
2. The featherdusters show up on the second screen.
3. However, - the featherdusters DON'T wave in the current and retract when a fish gets too near when on the second screen. (They are stationary.)

BUT! - When in MA3 Monitor Settings, if either screen is 'switched off', the featherdusters do then wave in the current and retract when a fish gets near.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2014, 04:03 PM   #120
Time Crystal Pilot
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2008

Posts: 46
  • crashes are gone now
  • feather dusters are static (even in window mode, no matter what screen(s) the window is on) when 2nd monitor is enabled in program settings
Time Crystal Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.