Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-22-2010, 07:04 AM   #101
clifdene
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: UK
Posts: 168
I am running 11e. When I download 11f and try to run it a message appears saying "MA3 Beta Test 10 has expired" !!
clifdene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 07:17 AM   #102
Yodelking
yodeler
 
Yodelking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Staffanstorp, Sweden
Posts: 294
Or you just turn back your date/clock on your computer...


Originally posted by JohnWho:
Uh oh - it appears 11f has expired.

While I can revert back to a previous version, it doesn't help me with the writing of the readme.

Jim - how about a quick "11f.1"?  
Yodelking - För god att kolsyra!
Yodelking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 07:21 AM   #103
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Originally posted by Yodelking:
Or you just turn back your date/clock on your computer...  

Which may then mess up other installed programs....

I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 07:55 AM   #104
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
** two lines ** I personally prefer that doing something in the "Music Playlist" panel should not change anything in the "Program Settings" panel. But at least, "Play" and "Stop" should be consistent.

Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Playing music turns on the Music. If the bubble sound comes on at the same time, that would be a bug.  
OK, then logically, Stopping the music (in the Music Playlist panel) should turn off the music (i.e., uncheck the Music box in the Program Settings panel).

Same behavior in 11e, by the way.

JohnWho, Jim's comment seems to confirm that turning on the music is "intended behavior". Perhaps it depends on how many things are in the playlist, or whether there's some particular filetype (like .sgt), or what length the paths are, or whatever. I think it's unlikely to be something that depends on the version of Windows. I just don't have the time or inclination to test every possible combination.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 09:40 AM   #105
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Re: Pressing Stop should turn off the Music in the Settings Panel -

Fair enough. I have changed the code thus:

If Music was already on when you brought up the Playlist panel, then it will still be on when you exit the panel, no matter what you have done with the Play or Stop buttons.
If Music was off when you entered the Playlist panel, pressing Play will turn Music on until you hit Stop. If you don't hit Stop, Music will be on until you turn it off in Program Settings or hit "M".
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 10:19 AM   #106
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
** 2 Lines ** Please fix any other strange or inconsistent behaviors, too.

Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Re: Pressing Stop should turn off the Music in the Settings Panel -

Fair enough. I shall make it so.  
Strange behaviors include:

If music is "on" in Program settings, opening the Music Playlist screen stops the music that was playing for the "Settings" panel. You only get the music to play (while on the playlist screen) if you click on "Play".

With a blank playlist, clicking on "Play" plays music. (Of course, that may not be inconsistent, I guess).
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 10:26 AM   #107
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
The current behavior is necessary. DirectMusic is a complex and finicky beast to control. I had all kinds of problems with it (crashes, page faults, etc.) until I added code which stopped the current music whenever the Playlist panel was brought up.

Busy getting 11g out...
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 10:39 AM   #108
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
The current behavior is necessary.

Busy getting 11g out...  
Understood. I still prefer the "other" behavior for Play/Stop, [Alternatively, please put a visible note on the Music panel that explains the side effects (plural) of the two buttons]

And yes, I do recognize that there would be some more programming work involved in saving the "before" status of Play, and restoring it later. It's much less programming to just make "Stop" turn off the program setting.

Clearly your call, of course.

Last edited by Dale; 05-22-2010 at 12:58 PM.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 01:40 PM   #109
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Re: Pressing Stop should turn off the Music in the Settings Panel -

Fair enough. I have changed the code thus:

If Music was already on when you brought up the Playlist panel, then it will still be on when you exit the panel, no matter what you have done with the Play or Stop buttons.
If Music was off when you entered the Playlist panel, pressing Play will turn Music on until you hit Stop. If you don't hit Stop, Music will be on until you turn it off in Program Settings or hit "M".  
Makes sense to me and sounds like something we'll be able to test in 11g.

I'll reflect this in the Readme file, once I try it, so I can explain it in the appropriate place(s).
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 02:22 PM   #110
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Re: Pressing Stop should turn off the Music in the Settings Panel -

Fair enough. I have changed the code thus:

If Music was already on when you brought up the Playlist panel, then it will still be on when you exit the panel, no matter what you have done with the Play or Stop buttons.
If Music was off when you entered the Playlist panel, pressing Play will turn Music on until you hit Stop. If you don't hit Stop, Music will be on until you turn it off in Program Settings or hit "M".  
OK. I still request that there be some information about this, displayed in the "Music Playlist" panel.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 02:49 PM   #111
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
OK, after a bit more thought, I'd prefer that the "play" and "stop" in the Music Playlist screen only affect the user while in that screen and not have any effect on the general Program Settings one way or the other.

In my opinion, this would be more consistent with this phrase which I believe is correct for all settings screens:

"Changes you make on this screen will only take effect when you click on the "OK" button. Clicking "Cancel" will not save your changes and all settings will remain as they were."

(Quote from Preliminary Proposed MA3.1 Draft Readme.txt)
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 03:14 PM   #112
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
That is how Cancel already works. I runs the ReadRegistry() routine, which replaces everything with the last saved value.

By the way - the holdup on 11g is the Limit Frame Rate feature. I was hoping to get it working for this release, but haven't come up with an algorithm that works. It keeps hunting for the proper frame rate. In my flying days, we called it a PIO - Pilot-Induced Oscillation. By correcting for a variation which happened a second ago, your corrections build up until you overshoot the proper pitch angle, so you correct for that, and so on until the oscillations get really wild. I may have to shut the feature off for this release.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 03:53 PM   #113
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Is the new "Limit Frame Rate" feature necessary or just one of those "nice to have new" features?

Maybe it can wait until MA 3.11?

Just wondering out loud.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2010, 04:07 PM   #114
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
It will definitely be in 3.1, just probably not working very well in v11g.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 02:40 AM   #115
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,893
Overcorrection resulting in Oscillation is a real problem in the process industry. Oil refineries, dairies, paper plants, etc. My dad worked in this industry for 50 years and was one of the pioneers in how these facilities are controlled and laid out. Process control uses a PID to keep things from getting out of hand.

But in your situation, what I would do is when you are going to have a reaction, multiply by .8 before applying it. This way you will never overreact. Instead, you'll see a target and creep up on it, rather than the chance of overshooting it.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 07:10 AM   #116
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
The problem with that is the Sleep command can't use decimals, only whole numbers.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 07:45 AM   #117
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Suppose, when the "Limit Frame Rate" option is selected and once the program starts, and once the 2 ossilating "Sleep" numbers are determined, you then have the program "select" one of them, which would immediately stop the ossilation?

Just a thought.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 08:12 AM   #118
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
I was leaning the other way - oscillating more often for a smoother average FPS.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 08:15 AM   #119
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Which would provide a lower CPU usage?
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2010, 08:25 AM   #120
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
It would be a proportional amount for whatever FPS you set, switching rapidly between the two CPU usage amounts.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.