Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-10-2008, 06:20 PM   #1
tliszt
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3
MarineAquarium3

Issues with Beta

I own a licensed Marine Aquarium 2.6 on a Mac (OSX).

I am able to run Windows XP on my Mac, so I downloaded the v3 Beta and ran the installer.

I can launch the 'standalone' application (MarineAquarium3) which works, but it *does not* appear when I attempt to select it as the screensaver.

Steps: Control Panel -> Display -> Screen Saver tab
the Marine Aquarium saver does NOT appear under the drop-down of available screensavers.

Also...how do I access any of the settings (i.e. to remove the 'goofy' text stats that display in the upper left of the aquarium image?) It doesn't appear that the standalone app has any settings panel.

And again, it doesn't show up under the Screen Saver choices.

Suggestions?
Tim Liszt
Web/Graphic Designer
Claritas Consortium
tliszt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 06:25 PM   #2
Tiny Turtle
is pleased
 
Tiny Turtle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
27 Highscores

Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 7,365
Text: Press "S"
Settings: Press Space bar
This doesn't work on the standalone?
Thanks to Morgan, Tiny Snapshots is up and running again with "Tiny Järvafält" as the latest addition – Go have a look and tell me what you think.

"We knew the world would not be the same. A few people laughed, a few people cried, most people were silent.
I remembered the line from the Hindu scripture, the Bhagavad-Gita. Vishnu is trying to persuade the Prince that he should do his duty and to impress him takes on his multi-armed form and says,
'Now, I am become Death, the destroyer of worlds.'
I suppose we all thought that, one way or another.
" /Robert Oppenheimer on witnessing the first thermonuclear detonation in history.
Tiny Turtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 06:25 PM   #3
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,893
On Windows, it should show up as a screen saver if dropped into C:\Windows\.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 06:35 PM   #4
tliszt
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 3
Wink Thanks so much!

Once I copied it to the correct directory (C:\Windows) it showed up.

And the space bar gave me the settings, and the 'S' key let me toggle on/off the (ugly) stats on the screen. :-)

It seems like it would be good if the installer put the application into the correct location.

(Being a Mac user, I was stymied.)

Now...what I really want is a version for my Mac!!
Tim Liszt
Web/Graphic Designer
Claritas Consortium
tliszt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 06:43 PM   #5
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Untill we get an actual installation program written, MA3 does not actually get "installed" on your machine. Just like in the Good Old Days, it's just a program that you put anywhere you wish on your hard drive, and double-click the file to run it. To uninstall it, just delete the file.

Only screensavers which have been installed into the proper directory (which is different for each operating system), will show up on the list of screensavers in Display Properties.

However, just because it doesn't show up on the list doesn't mean you can't use it as a screensaver. Just right-click the file, and choose Install. You'll notice that the full Aqaurium now actually runs in the tiny Preview window in the Display Properties box.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 06:44 PM   #6
schneb
Registered
 
schneb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002

Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 51
Keycommands

There are a few keycommands that I have found through random play and I think should have been included. If there are more, please free to share.

P-Pan Toggle
W-Wireframe Toggle
S-Stat Toggle
F-Fullscreen
X-Fish Toggle
M-Music Toggle
B-Bubble SFX Toggle
Spacebar-Menu
Esc - Exit
schneb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 06:56 PM   #7
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Aren't those all covered in the About box?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 07:06 PM   #8
Bubbadude
Registered
 
Bubbadude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: South Carolina
Posts: 8
Well I'm running 112 fps at 1680x1050x32 on a nvidia Geforce 8800 GT WITH 512M and all the fish in the tank and it is awesome, kudos Jim no problem yet.
Bubbadude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 07:11 PM   #9
schneb
Registered
 
schneb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002

Location: Redlands, CA
Posts: 51
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Aren't those all covered in the About box?  
Didn't know they were in the About box. There was no instructions in the Zip file. Oh well, it's there guys!
schneb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 07:16 PM   #10
jkingrph
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2007

Posts: 1
I downloaded, double clicked and get a black screen with message no input signal.
jkingrph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 08:59 PM   #11
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Try right-clicking it and select Configure. Bring up the Screen Settings box and try setting the resolution to something other than Automatic. Try a low resolution that you're sure the system can handle, maybe 800x600x16.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.