Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-13-2014, 06:26 PM   #141
harris
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2006

Location: Missouri
Posts: 120
Thanks, Jim,

Even though I'm running only a single monitor I am still downloading and testing each beta version. It reminds me of the excitement during the early days of MA2/3 beta development. Which reminds me, please don't pull anymore all-nighters like you used to do - you got pretty frazzled during those days.
harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 06:50 PM   #142
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,321
Yes.. I can no longer create a frozen duster. Nice job incidentally.. the dusters look good

Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889 – 1951)
The limits of my language are the limits of my mind. All I know is what I have words for.
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2014, 10:56 PM   #143
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Here's a version with the Moray Eel added to the fish list, so that it can be turned on or off like the rest of the critters.

Also, the starfish position is saved.

http://www.fish-byte.com/MA33gBeta.scr
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium

Last edited by Jim Sachs; 01-14-2014 at 12:24 PM.
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 02:06 AM   #144
fly911
Registered
 
fly911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013

Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 77
That looks great, Jim.
I like the eel there all the time, but it's nice to have a choice. The feather dusters look great and appear to react independently as they would be expected to. Another awesome accomplishment, Jim. You are a true artist. Thank you.
Mike
fly911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 05:04 AM   #145
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Looks like MA33fBeta has done the trick.

Multiple Featherdusters.
Featherduster-freeze problem fixed.
+ Starfish position saved.

... What more could we ask for?

Thanks, Jim. - Nice job.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 05:08 AM   #146
engelens
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2008

Location: Belgium
Posts: 34
Cannot turn the eel back on

Hello, the eel seems now to be off by default, but in fish settings, I cannot turn the eel back on, I cannot remove the X...
engelens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 06:46 AM   #147
harris
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2006

Location: Missouri
Posts: 120
Originally posted by engelens:
Hello, the eel seems now to be off by default, but in fish settings, I cannot turn the eel back on, I cannot remove the X...  
engelens,

You can enable Harvey the eel like you do with any other of the fishes:

1. click on the picture of the eel in the right pane.

2. Look in the left pane and click the "up" arrow next to "Number in tank" to increase the number of Zebra Morey eels to one (1). Unlike the fishes, you can have only one (1) Zebra Moray eel.

Let us know if this doesn't work for you.
harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 06:50 AM   #148
patscarr
Pet Shark
 
patscarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
1 Highscore

Location: Back in Buffalo
Posts: 5,392
Here's something strange. In Settings, I've clicked on the picture of the starfish to highlight it, but the information for the eel is showing.

Also, imho, I think the eel should default "on."

Attached Images
File Type: jpg fish1.jpg (140.9 KB, 65 views)
Patrick
patscarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 06:57 AM   #149
patscarr
Pet Shark
 
patscarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
1 Highscore

Location: Back in Buffalo
Posts: 5,392
And perhaps, since this is such an awesome product with tons of individual settings the user can change, play with, test out, forget about, never know about, and screw up, would it be possible to add another "all settings back to default" setting?
Patrick
patscarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 07:09 AM   #150
harris
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2006

Location: Missouri
Posts: 120
Originally posted by patscarr:
Here's something strange. In Settings, I've clicked on the picture of the starfish to highlight it, but the information for the eel is showing.  
It works correctly for me. I'm using a single monitor, maybe that has something to do with it.


Originally posted by patscarr:
Also, imho, I think the eel should default "on."  
Good suggestion, we want everyone to know he is hiding in his cave.
harris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:06 AM   #151
Jean-Pierre Marro
Registered
 
Jean-Pierre Marro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009

Location: Toulon, France
Posts: 47
Hello Jim,
I tested the new software " MA33fBeta " it is completed, feather dusters react much better and more quickly when fishes go towards them. (Perfect Undulation of feather dusters).

For "Zébra Morey" and starfish " good thing the possibility of putting or of deleting(eliminating) well that for my personal taste they must be present all the time what makes the charm of the aquarium.

** THANK YOU Jim for all the work which you made to please us.

*PS. In when the definitive version with these new elements so that we can register ??fficeffice" />>>
Jean-Pierre Marro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:42 AM   #152
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Pat - How are you doing that? The new version has a new fish chart with the Moray Eel at the bottom right, yet somehow your computer is displaying the old picture. All I can think of is that it must be using a cached version of the pic.

The Moray Eel DOES default to ON, if the program has never been run. If the Registry contains a fishlist, it will show the Moray as OFF, since there never was one on the list before. Once it is enabled the Registry will remember it.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:50 AM   #153
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Originally posted by patscarr:
Here's something strange. In Settings, I've clicked on the picture of the starfish to highlight it, but the information for the eel is showing.  
Pat, - You joined in Nov 2001 and are still not registered? - I can't believe that!

BTW....

Everything seems ok here:-
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ChooseFish.jpg (246.5 KB, 11 views)
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 09:55 AM   #154
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Ahhh, that explains it. The program uses a different fish chart when it's unregistered.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 10:10 AM   #155
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,664
Maybe Pat is just testing the unregistered version as well.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 10:17 AM   #156
engelens
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2008

Location: Belgium
Posts: 34
Thank you, Harris!

Originally posted by harris:
engelens,

You can enable Harvey the eel like you do with any other of the fishes:

1. click on the picture of the eel in the right pane.

2. Look in the left pane and click the "up" arrow next to "Number in tank" to increase the number of Zebra Morey eels to one (1). Unlike the fishes, you can have only one (1) Zebra Moray eel.

Let us know if this doesn't work for you.  
The eel is back in the cave
engelens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 12:24 PM   #157
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Here's the fix for the Unregistered behavior:

http://www.fish-byte.com/MA33gBeta.scr

Note: the starfish is no longer in the tank if Unregistered.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 12:47 PM   #158
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,321
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
The Moray Eel DOES default to ON, if the program has never been run. If the Registry contains a fishlist, it will show the Moray as OFF, since there never was one on the list before. Once it is enabled the Registry will remember it.  
A little counter intuitive though. In the fishlist the Moray was unselected with an "x" in the box. Clicking on it selects the box as it does with everything. But, I did not want to "disable" this fish.. only when I disabled.. and "then" had the option to uncheck the disable was the Moray available to the tank.
Perhaps replacing the "Disable this fish" with a "Show / Hide fish"

And.. (you can tell I have little to do today).. The diet of the Moray is listed as carnivorous. An animal can eat a fish and be carnivorous.. If.. a fish eats a fish.. is it still carnivorous?
Edit> After checking the "Google" I am a wiser man.. fish are animals.. and an animal that eats animals is carnivorous..

Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889 – 1951)
The limits of my language are the limits of my mind. All I know is what I have words for.
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 01:05 PM   #159
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
If I can think of an elegant way to make the Moray default to ON even if it's not in the saved fishlist, I'll implement it.

That's if I'm even able to program after today. My hard drive just started giving me messages that it's failing. This one is fairly new, a replacement for the catastophic hard drive failure I had a year or so ago. I don't think I can go through this again, and when it fails, I may just take it as a sign that I should get out of computers completely.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 01:12 PM   #160
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,664
Go get a SSD, and there are such things as Back-ups.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.