Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-30-2009, 06:02 PM   #121
jedware
Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2008

Posts: 23
1. Thanks Jim for all the hard effort and detail you put in your work.

2. I purchased the upgrade key even though you offered for free to Beta testers because I want to make sure you know your work is well appreciated.

3. When I used the "PayPal" option on the serene screen checkout it stated that an account would be created for me. Was it referrring to an paypal account or prolific account?

If it was prolific I saw no email about an account and there were no options to select an account name and password in the process.
jedware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:17 PM   #122
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,633
jedware - Thanks for your support. I'll have to let Prolific answer your question about confirmation emails. I am positive that no PayPal account was created, because we have no way of doing that.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:33 PM   #123
Rainyfly
Registered
 
Rainyfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007

Location: Australia
Posts: 31
jedware

I wondered about the account thing too. It took me to the Paypal page to create a Paypal account, but there was an option to sign into an existing account too.

Cheers,
Rainyfly
Rainyfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:35 PM   #124
Xylem
Registered
 
Xylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003

Location: Belleville, Michigan
Posts: 68
Well, I guess I've lost track of the issue here. To reiterate: In Vista 64 there is both a System32 file and a SysWOW64 file. There are Screensavers in both, but Serenescreen's appear in SysWOW64 (as they should). I have both MA2.6 and Marine Aquarium 3 in SysWOW64; they both run fine and don't interfere.

There is some oddity about the names: SysWOW64 contains "MarineAquarium3" but it appears in the Windows Screensaver window as "Serenscreen Marine Aquarium 3." The names must be controlled by some internal mechanism, but it makes not difference to the functioning of the screensaver. It does fine.

It seems to me there is no problem; is that correct?

edit: sorry, again. While I was typing that a bunch of replies got inserted.
Xylem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 06:54 PM   #125
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,633
Xylem - you are correct, the name that appears in the Display Properties screensaver list is extracted by Windows from internal data within the program, not from the filename. The version with the installer should show up as MarineAquarium3. The older Betas would be SereneScreen Marine Aqaurium.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 07:04 PM   #126
Xylem
Registered
 
Xylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003

Location: Belleville, Michigan
Posts: 68
LOL. OK, Jim, maybe I do have a problem.

I have the installer version installed (just to be sure; it self-launches as a SS, but to manually launch I have to type 'testfish', right?)

Well it shows up in the Windows SS list as Serenescreen Marine Aquarium 3, which you say is an old beta. Do I have that right so far? Should it just say Marine Aquarium 3 in the SS list?
Xylem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 07:19 PM   #127
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Originally posted by cjmaddy:
Mark, - I have uninstalled then reinstalled Beta8k-with-installer, - I still have no Marine Aquarium 3 in the Display Properties Screen Saver list. Only older MA versions, together with a SereneScreen Marine Aquarium.  
Have you done the file search?
For everyone, please be specific as there was a difference although I never posted it here...
Marine Aquarium 3
and
MarineAquarium3
are two VERY different animals that drop files in roughly the same locations BUT create two very different registry settings
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 07:29 PM   #128
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Originally posted by cjmaddy:
Xylem,
This is strange. MarineAquarium3.scr is in my System32 folder, but not present in the Display Properties Screen Saver list. - Right-clicking/installing from the desktop icon, makes no difference. - In the Display Properties Screen Saver list MA3 is called SereneScreen Marine Aquarium
I am using Win2kPro SP4, BTW.  
Check your DirectX. 9c is the minimum and unless you can work voodoo, Win2000 is the lowest that can accept 9c
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 07:55 PM   #129
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Originally posted by Xylem:
Well, I guess I've lost track of the issue here. To reiterate: In Vista 64 there is both a System32 file and a SysWOW64 file. There are Screensavers in both, but Serenescreen's appear in SysWOW64 (as they should). I have both MA2.6 and Marine Aquarium 3 in SysWOW64; they both run fine and don't interfere.

There is some oddity about the names: SysWOW64 contains "MarineAquarium3" but it appears in the Windows Screensaver window as "Serenscreen Marine Aquarium 3." The names must be controlled by some internal mechanism, but it makes not difference to the functioning of the screensaver. It does fine.

It seems to me there is no problem; is that correct?

edit: sorry, again. While I was typing that a bunch of replies got inserted.  
OH!!! THANK YOU!!! Now I know what everyone is referring to and Xylem you just made my day!

Here is how it works:
The physical scr is named MarineAquarium3, the user sees Marine Aquarium 3. This is by design
Vista bumps names with spaces. 64 wont even load them and the install fails but to re-create this takes an installer.
I am happy to listen to another way and welcome all ideas. What we have is pretty easy.
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:27 PM   #130
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
jedware - Thanks for your support. I'll have to let Prolific answer your question about confirmation emails. I am positive that no PayPal account was created, because we have no way of doing that.  
My recollection, from just purchasing the upgrade this afternoon, is that the purchase process offered to let me pay via PayPal, and (paraphrasing) said it would "transfer me to PayPal where I could create a PayPal account".

I figured I could always back out, so I just plugged on ahead, and was presented with a screen that let me enter my PayPal ID and password - and then pay using that account.

So, the first statement is a BIT misleading, and should probably be fixed to be more clear about what is going to happen if one chooses PayPal as the payment method.

I'll also comment that the PayPal screens were legitimate, but were not exactly like any other PayPal screens I had ever seen (and I've seen several payment menthods using PayPal). For instance (and proof) my browser did not automatically fill in my PayPal ID in the login panel - and it "always" does that on other sites.

No big deals, but I thought they deserved mentioning.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:40 PM   #131
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by cjmaddy:
Yes. but it's taken an awfully long time, and endless repetition, to convince some that it was so!  
In my case, it only took hearing it from markknight once. It's not that I disbelieved Jim - but Jim didn't write the installer.

And markknight already (unnecessarily) apologized for the less-than-48-hours delay in answering. So, browbeat me if you wish, but not Mark.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:48 PM   #132
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Dale,
PayPal is a third party payment method that we must have. I prefer to use PayPal just for the security in most of my personal transactions
Once anyone decides on that option, you are in their world not ours. Its is a HTTPS / SSL. We forward to them and hand off everything from that point on.
If you have no account you need to make one. Them not us.
Eventually we get paid
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 09:01 PM   #133
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Dale,
No one here has any intention of browbeating anyone.

I love a challenge. I WANT to hear what went wrong from YOU and everyone here!

Once this goes completely live /non-beta for the world to see...can you imagine just how many problems I could create by ONE wrong keystroke!?

Call me find me yell at me, help me cut the support questions to a minimum.

Jim built the BEST screen saver ever made. It is my duty to make an installer that is "KISS".....Keep It Simple Stupid. If I have failed in that task. you better speak up!

Mark@Prolific.com
mark_knight_prolific Skype
818-562-8400 x393
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 10:41 PM   #134
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by markknight:
Dale,
PayPal is a third party payment method that we must have. I prefer to use PayPal just for the security in most of my personal transactions
Once anyone decides on that option, you are in their world not ours. Its is a HTTPS / SSL. We forward to them and hand off everything from that point on.
If you have no account you need to make one. Them not us.
Eventually we get paid  
Yes, I understand. I have a PayPal business account and have been using PayPal for several years. I really appreciate the fact that you are allowing PayPal payments.

My comment was meant to convey that as I recall, the Prolific panel only referred to creating an account. I don't recall seeing anything that said I could use my existing PayPal account. That was a bit bothersome to me ("hmmm - perhaps I can't use my existing account"). But I plugged along, and quickly found out that I could use my existing account.

It looked like Rainyfly and jedware had the same experience and "bother" (see their comments earlier).

Now, perhaps my recollection is wrong - and I sure can't easily go back and repeat the experience. But, if I remembered correctly, I suggest changing the wording to indicate that you can use your existing PayPal account and, if you don't have one, PayPal will create one for you.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 11:11 PM   #135
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Dale
How can we make this better? Stupid proof?
If you as a regular user of PayPal just "felt wrong" please, help me make it better.
This is not my territory but I have the ability to make it better.
Of note...PayPal will not allow us to run tests. All transactions are real and live
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 02:55 PM   #136
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by markknight:
Dale
How can we make this better? Stupid proof?
If you as a regular user of PayPal just "felt wrong" please, help me make it better.
This is not my territory but I have the ability to make it better.
Of note...PayPal will not allow us to run tests. All transactions are real and live  
Sorry, I really thought I was being clear.

On the panel: https://www.prolific.com/store/cart.php?mode=checkout

Where it says:

"New Customers: Want to use PayPal? Click the above button and let Paypal create your account."

Remove the "New Customers" part, and then...

Make it say something like:

"Want to use PayPal? Click the above button to use your existing PayPal Account or let Paypal create your new account."

[Underlines used above just to show where the changes are]
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 03:04 PM   #137
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,633
Thanks, the wording will be changed.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 10:17 PM   #138
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by Rob62:
As far as "getting picky". During the installation, regarding the suggestion pertaining to having the latest DirectX (in this case 9.0c or greater) installed, the link below that statement brings one to a Microsoft home page that requires navigation to the DirectX page from there. Why not send folks directly to: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/B...n&categoryid=2 ?  
I believe that's a valuable suggestion, and it applies also to the FAQ on the SereneScreen site, and elsewhere.

The bottom line would be that, the easier you make it for "joe user" to find out if he/she has the right prerequisites, and THEN the easier you make it for him/her to find and install the latest version, the fewer support problems you will have.

There are lots of alternatives for "where to send them".
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2009, 10:28 PM   #139
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
I just ran the installer and have several comments/suggestions to make. Thankfully, I don't have time to write all of them now.

I'll start with the first thing I saw.

When the user tries to run the installer, Microsoft pops up a window announcing that it can't identify the publisher and suggesting that perhaps the user shouldn't continue.

The big problem is that publisher is shown as "Unknown Publisher".

Presuming that Prolific is proud of the product, a certificate is needed to identify the publisher.

[Yes, I know that "most folks" will just click on the "quit bothering me with security" button and go on - but I recommend against beginning the user experience with "sloppy"]
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 10:25 AM   #140
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,325
Question

Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
We are getting very close to releasing Marine Aquarium 3 to the public.

We have produced an Installer for Marine Aquarium 3 Beta 8k which we would like everyone to take a look at and test out.

Note that it will NOT accept any 2.6 keycodes and we are no generating Marine Aquarium 3 keycodes at this time. So to test it out, please use the TESTFISH key.


Download Marine Aquarium 3 Beta 8k with Installer


I covered this in another thread, but yes - MA3 will need its own Key Code. Anyone who paid full price for MA2.6 on the website since last August will be able to simply log onto the site and get a free MA3 Key by email. Anyone participating in this Beta Test Forum will be able to get one, though Customer Service will need to handle that. And of course, you few who have been with us for the better part of a decade will be entitled to a free upgrade.

None of the mechanisms for getting the new Key Codes are in place yet. This new download is for those who'd like to test the new installer and behavior of MA3 in its unregistered form. For a while, the version at the normal download location (which has no installer) will continue to accept MA2.6 Key Codes.  
Some of this has obviously changed... but is there a link to the current "installer" version.. or.. where does one find "it".. The Prolific site?? this one no longer works.
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.