Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2009, 08:41 PM   #21
sunny
Registered
 
sunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003

Location: Penang,Malaysia
Posts: 277
Originally posted by Dale:
Is that launching Excel or Word by clicking on a *.xls or *.doc file (or a shortcut to a file)? That's where I see the problem.

If MA3 is running, and I just launch Excel or Word (blank - no document associated), then they open quickly. But that's not the problem.  
Oh! I see. Sorry for the misleading info & not clarify earlier. Yep, me too having this problem.

..`.><(((>

oOooO
><(((> <)))><
sunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 09:05 PM   #22
Mith
Registered
 
Mith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008

Posts: 140
Originally posted by Jav400:
Jim,

I'm not sure just how you would track this one down. But if I have MA3 running in a window and try to start Excel, it won't load. I get the sort of "hung/frozen" thing going and it stays that way.

If I close the aquarium while this is going on, then Excel loads immediately without needing to restart Excel.

Can anyone else try this and see?

EDIT: I have found that if I try to start Excel without any documents loading it will start. But, if I choose something pre-existing from Start/documents, thats when it won't load. The same holds true for MS Word.  

I'm using MS 2000 and am able to open a Word document while the SS is in the windowed mode... didn't try it with Excel.
Mith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 11:05 AM   #23
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by Mith:
I'm using MS 2000 and am able to open a Word document while the SS is in the windowed mode... didn't try it with Excel.  
"MS 2000"?

Do you mean Windows 2000? Or Office 2000? Or what?

Please state what operating system (and what update level), and what version of Word (or Office).
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2009, 08:12 PM   #24
Mith
Registered
 
Mith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008

Posts: 140
Originally posted by Dale:
"MS 2000"?

Do you mean Windows 2000? Or Office 2000? Or what?

Please state what operating system (and what update level), and what version of Word (or Office).  
MS Office 2000.... Vista Premium Home W/current updates. GF8800 series Video card with 340 mem (I think)...

I didn't have an excel doc handy... so I don't know if that would work. But the word doc opened without difficulty.
Mith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 11:35 AM   #25
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,668
Bump:

I don't know if anyone ever had any ideas about this one. But, it still happens to me using Beta 8i.


As a reminder the problem is:

Using Start/Documents and a pre-existing file for anything requiring a program from MS Office, will not load if MA3 is running in a window. Closing MA3 lets the document immediately load.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 12:55 PM   #26
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,634
No ideas on that one.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 01:01 PM   #27
rps
Registered
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Posts: 57
Originally posted by Jav400:
Bump:

I don't know if anyone ever had any ideas about this one. But, it still happens to me using Beta 8i.


As a reminder the problem is:

Using Start/Documents and a pre-existing file for anything requiring a program from MS Office, will not load if MA3 is running in a window. Closing MA3 lets the document immediately load.  
Yep; happens to me too. WinXP, Office 2003

~Ralph S.
rps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 01:23 PM   #28
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,634
Could you try turning off the music and bubble sound and see if that makes any difference?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 01:31 PM   #29
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,668
Actually I keep both of those off pretty much most of the time. But, as a test I just tried it both ways and neither way made any difference. It still doesn't open a pre-existing document.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 02:08 PM   #30
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Yes, it's still the same here too, when trying to open a Word document.

If I wait long enough, a pre-existing document does eventually open, - but it can take a couple of minutes or more.
With a MA2.6 window, a document will open immediately.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 03:39 PM   #31
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,634
Edgar believes he has found the cause, and it is the DirectShow loop for the sound. Try Beta 8j: http://www.fish-byte.com/MA3Beta.zip
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 04:26 PM   #32
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,668
Yep, that fixed it for me.

It loads immediately now like it should.

I tried it both with the sounds on and off as well.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 04:34 PM   #33
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Yep! - Same here.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 04:40 PM   #34
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,634
Glad to hear it. (And VERY glad Edgar was around for that one!)
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.