Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-04-2009, 04:21 AM   #1
rctneil
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 239
Question Windows 7 Super Bar

Why will the MA3 executable not let itself be pinned to the Windows 7 Super Bar?
rctneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 07:21 AM   #2
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,586
Not having seen Windows 7, I don't really know what a Super Bar is, but one possibility is the filename. If you rename it as an .exe file instead of a .scr file, does it change anything?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 10:48 AM   #3
mnielsen574
Registered
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Texas
Posts: 1
I assume you are referring to the start menu in Windows 7. You cannot pin a scr file to the start menu. It will have to be exe file.
mnielsen574 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 02:55 PM   #4
streetwolf
Registered
 
streetwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009

Posts: 34
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Not having seen Windows 7, I don't really know what a Super Bar is, but one possibility is the filename. If you rename it as an .exe file instead of a .scr file, does it change anything?  
That's the reason. Must be an exe.
streetwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 03:33 PM   #5
rctneil
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 239
Right, If I change the MarineAquarium3.scr file to an exe then I can add it to the Superbar, BUT, If I right click on the desktop and select Personalize and go to Screensaver, it does not appear in the screensavers list and will not let me use MA3 as the default screensaver. If I alter the file back to an scr then I can have it as the default screensaver but it won;t let me put it on the superbar.

Any ideas guys?

Thanks

Regards,
Neil
rctneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2009, 03:45 PM   #6
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,586
Windows looks for the extension, and treats the file accordingly. You could just make two copies, using an .exe for one and .scr for the other.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 02:30 AM   #7
Rob62
Registered
 
Rob62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
3 Highscores

Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 62
[quote=Jim Sachs] "Not having seen Windows 7"

Here is something that may be of interest:
http://www.windowsxlive.net/seven-transformation-pack

From this hyperlink, you can Download Seven Transformation Pack 2.0. and
have your system act, look and sound similar to Windows 7 - that is scheduled for release October 22nd.

As it makes some changes to your system, it may be wise to create a new System Restore point before installing the new software, even though the program does offer you the choice to switch back when (and if) you choose to.

Rob

~ God Bless ALL ~
Rob62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 05:38 AM   #8
jimkraz
Registered
 
jimkraz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004

Location: Troon, Scotland
Posts: 125
Make a shortcut to it on desktop, then pin shortcut to superbar, see if that works better. Jim Kraz
Something Fishy Going On
jimkraz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 08:51 AM   #9
rctneil
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 239
Thats what I was trying. It'll pin it when the shortcut is pointing to an exe, just not when pointing to a .scr!

Something Fishy is definitely going on!!!!!!!!
rctneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 12:14 PM   #10
Nicki
Sugar Plum Fairy
 
Nicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008

Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,267
Has anyone tried the seven transformation pack ? Does it eat a lot of resources ( i.e. will a modest XP PC be able to run it ) ?
Run you clever boy. And remember...
Nicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 09:03 PM   #11
Rob62
Registered
 
Rob62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
3 Highscores

Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 62
Nicki,

You can visit JCXP Forums for support and discussion regarding the Windows 7 Transformation Pack.

If it does not agree with your system or when you want to be rid of it, you can use this to help uninstall it uninstall.reg.zip (367 bytes) - log in required. The file comes from here.


Rob

~ God Bless ALL ~
Rob62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2009, 10:08 PM   #12
Socrates
Sage
 
Socrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001

Location: West Hills, CA
Posts: 1,529
acting and looking like win 7 is not the same as actualyl being win 7 so not sure how useful that is for developers. It is a nice treat though.
Bat rays? We don't need no stinking bat rays!
Socrates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 06:45 AM   #13
celine
Special Assistant
 
celine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005

Location: back to home.......
Posts: 1,262
I have been "customized" my pc almost 10 years. Transformation Packs is the least I would like. Mind you,it overrides default of system's registry,not for novice whom doesn't know how to undo afterwards.Sorry,if my tone was too intimidated.
Kanebo--woman's first choice.
celine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 03:06 PM   #14
henemly
asdf
 
henemly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Location: Hiko, CommieFagnia
Posts: 275
Originally posted by celine:
I have been "customized" my pc almost 10 years.  
10 years ago as in past tense? or you've been "customizing" it for 10 years?
http://www.coltrain.byethost8.com
henemly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 04:17 PM   #15
Wizwad
Only me...
 
Wizwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Essex, England
Posts: 2,569
I think Celine, being Taiwanese, uses translation software to communicate with the English speaking world.

I could be wrong, but some of her posts have been so intriguing and used such unusual language, that I think it must be true.
Mark
-----------
Intel i7 930 | Asus P6X58D-E | Corsair DDR3 1600 6GB | Palit 1GB GeForce GTX460 Sonic | Enermax ERV850EWT PSU | 1.5TB WD15EARS | LG BH10LS30 BluRay| Antec 900 Case | Acer Aspire GD245HQ 23.6" | Windows 10 Professional x64
Wizwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 10:08 PM   #16
celine
Special Assistant
 
celine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005

Location: back to home.......
Posts: 1,262
Well, henemly. My grammar still need improve it and I am not in keen “customizing” my pc lately. The first time I have customized my pc was with Windowblinds which back to 1999.


Naw, Mark, again, I am not use “translation software” whatsoever. I did use Google and Yahoo for spelling and vocabulary that I don’t know how to express from Chinese to English though.
Kanebo--woman's first choice.
celine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 03:59 AM   #17
Wizwad
Only me...
 
Wizwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Essex, England
Posts: 2,569
I apologise, Celine. You do very well! Certainly far better than I would speaking any oriental language!
Mark
-----------
Intel i7 930 | Asus P6X58D-E | Corsair DDR3 1600 6GB | Palit 1GB GeForce GTX460 Sonic | Enermax ERV850EWT PSU | 1.5TB WD15EARS | LG BH10LS30 BluRay| Antec 900 Case | Acer Aspire GD245HQ 23.6" | Windows 10 Professional x64
Wizwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 05:33 AM   #18
celine
Special Assistant
 
celine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005

Location: back to home.......
Posts: 1,262
Thanks the compliment,it's no biggy.
Kanebo--woman's first choice.
celine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 10:43 AM   #19
Marian Nichols
~Author~
 
Marian Nichols's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003

Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Posts: 7,431
I am going to try Win 7, but I didn't think it had been officially released, are you using the beta version?

Celine, i have no problem understanding you but then we talk a lot, don't we.
Marian Nichols is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 12:11 PM   #20
rctneil
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 239
Nope, using RTM version
rctneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.