Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-04-2009, 08:45 AM   #1
russnjan
Registered
 
russnjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008

Posts: 10
Problem Started with 10d

It is frustrating, because it locks the computer up. It is frustrating because it is sporadic. It is frustrating, because out of 10 times it might happen, 4 of those instances shuts the Graphics Card down and reverts everything to VGA.

The two screenshots attached show it running mormally [MA3.jpg], and the other when it plays up. I am using 8gb of RAM in my system, it is run under WinXP Pro on a Quad motherboard.

Hoping it can be resolved .....

Russ Marlborough
Darwin - Australia
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MA3.JPG (389.2 KB, 39 views)
File Type: jpg MA3a.JPG (238.1 KB, 55 views)

Last edited by russnjan; 10-04-2009 at 08:55 AM. Reason: Screenshots appear not to have uploaded
russnjan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 01:18 PM   #2
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,587
Does this happen when the program first starts, or after it has been running a while?

If it only happens after running, the card is probably overheating. You can use the UP-DN arrow keys to increase the Sleep() time, which will lower the frame rate and let the card rest. At 110 fps, you can afford to give up a few frames-per-second without affecting animation quality.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 04:13 PM   #3
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,655
Slow the fps down to something like 50fps and let it run for awhile and see what happens.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2009, 04:57 PM   #4
russnjan
Registered
 
russnjan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008

Posts: 10
Thank you both for your replies.

Jim, yes it does only happen after it has been running for some time.

I'll try both your suggestions and report back in due course.

Thanks again
russnjan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.