Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Mac OS X
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2012, 04:20 PM   #21
Derwinator
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2012

Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 10
Mac OS X Lion Support

Hi all,

Excellent work on this update! I've installed on my iMac with Mac OS X Lion and haven't seen any major issues. Really like the addition of the eel and background screen options. Was wondering: ever since I upgraded to Mac OS X Lion the FPS rate for Marine Aquarium never gets any higher than about 30 FPS, most times down to 20 or so. I had much higher FPS rates before the update and I know that Apple changed up the way screen savers worked in this version (many of my screen savers had to be updated or abandoned). Any ideas why I can't get faster FPS rates?

Processor 2.8 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
Memory 4 GB 800 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Graphics ATI Radeon HD 2600 Pro 256 MB
Software Mac OS X Lion 10.7.3 (11D50b)

Thanks!
Darren
Derwinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2012, 06:19 PM   #22
dsanfili
Registered
 
dsanfili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002

Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 22
Originally posted by Feashman:
Jim:

Just noticed the post from 2/2/12 from Endie. He exactly describes the problem. The fish selection in the Application works fine. The fish selection screen embedded in the screen saver preferences is messed up. Some fish repeat, others, like the trigger fish, are missing.

BTW, I am running on a 2011 MacBook Pro.

Feashman  
This problem must not effect everyone. On my 'puter the preferences for both the application and the screen saver are identical with no missing fish and no duplicated fish as can be seen below in the attached screenshot.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MA ScreenShot.jpg (689.8 KB, 11 views)
dsanfili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:26 PM   #23
dsanfili
Registered
 
dsanfili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002

Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 22
3.2 beta expired today!

dsanfili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:36 AM   #24
JimO'Connor
Mac Development
 
JimO'Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002

Location: Kenai, Alaska
Posts: 678
dsanfil,

The beta should have expired Jan 31 and again at the end of Feb. It is running for me. Could you please check that you have the most recent build?
Jim O'Connor
Order N Development
JimO'Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:57 AM   #25
JimO'Connor
Mac Development
 
JimO'Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002

Location: Kenai, Alaska
Posts: 678
Endie and Feashman,

I'm not able to reproduce the problem you're describing. What OS are you using?
Jim O'Connor
Order N Development
JimO'Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 01:58 AM   #26
JimO'Connor
Mac Development
 
JimO'Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002

Location: Kenai, Alaska
Posts: 678
Derwinator,

I'll look at the fps issue you're seeing after I get the lighting changes done. Thanks for letting me know about it.
Jim O'Connor
Order N Development
JimO'Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:01 AM   #27
dsanfili
Registered
 
dsanfili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002

Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 22
Originally posted by JimO'Connor:
dsanfil,

The beta should have expired Jan 31 and again at the end of Feb. It is running for me. Could you please check that you have the most recent build?  
Hmmm, this is strange. I'm definitely running the most recent build (3.2.0) created 2/1/12 3:44 AM), but yesterday afternoon it presented a grey screen with the words "BetaExpiredMessage".

I'll try reinstalling and see what happens.
dsanfili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:05 AM   #28
Feashman
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2012

Posts: 7
Originally posted by JimO'Connor:
Endie and Feashman,

I'm not able to reproduce the problem you're describing. What OS are you using?  
I am using the latest version of Mac OS 10.7.3

My 3.2 beta has also expired. Will try and re-download and install.
Feashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:14 AM   #29
Feashman
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2012

Posts: 7
I still am getting the beta expired message. So, I deleted 3.2 from the screen savers folder, rebooted and re-installed the screen saver. Still get beta expired message.
Feashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 08:45 AM   #30
dsanfili
Registered
 
dsanfili's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002

Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 22
Here's what I tried, Jim. I deleted both the app and the screen saver and all pref files. Downloaded a fresh copy (build 720). Reinstalled and reentered my license key.

Still getting the beta expired message.

I'm glad to see, however, that I'm not the only one.
dsanfili is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:12 AM   #31
Derwinator
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2012

Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 10
Originally posted by JimO'Connor:
Derwinator,

I'll look at the fps issue you're seeing after I get the lighting changes done. Thanks for letting me know about it.  
Many thanks - it's not a huge issue but I've been wondering if it's just my aging hardware or if something isn't working as it should.

BTW, my beta copy has expired same as everyone else. Hoping to see new beta posted soon so I can continue testing.

Thanks,
Darren
Derwinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 11:24 AM   #32
JimO'Connor
Mac Development
 
JimO'Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002

Location: Kenai, Alaska
Posts: 678
When you post a problem please post the OS you're using -- each time. The hardware is less important unless it is a performance issue.

Thanks. I'll get a new build out and let you guys know here.
Jim O'Connor
Order N Development
JimO'Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 04:34 PM   #33
cohiba420
Registered
 
cohiba420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 63
Hi Jim. Im on 10.6.8 (mac OS). Same 'expired' message.
cohiba420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 04:36 PM   #34
JimO'Connor
Mac Development
 
JimO'Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002

Location: Kenai, Alaska
Posts: 678
The beta date will be fixed tonight. No need for more detail there. Thanks.
Jim O'Connor
Order N Development
JimO'Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 04:55 AM   #35
JimO'Connor
Mac Development
 
JimO'Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002

Location: Kenai, Alaska
Posts: 678
A new build has been posted which may solve the problem showing up with the fish panel mangled in German. If you have seen a problem and you STILL see a problem, please post a picture. The fish names are all English, as I don't have the German translations, but the panel should work properly and display all fish if I guessed right.

Date extended to the end of the month.

Thanks for feedback!

http://orderndev.com/downloads/MarineAquarium3.2.dmg
Jim O'Connor
Order N Development
JimO'Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 07:22 AM   #36
Feashman
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2012

Posts: 7
New build date extension now works.

Fish selection screen still does not work properly. No trigger fish, but multiple lion fish. It does display properly in version 3.0. Is it OK to have both 3.0 and 3.2 in the screen savers folder at the same time?

Fish selection does display properly in the 3.2 application.
Feashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 11:34 AM   #37
JimO'Connor
Mac Development
 
JimO'Connor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002

Location: Kenai, Alaska
Posts: 678
Feashman,

Please try without the MA 3 screen saver. It should work that way, but that could be the problem.
Jim O'Connor
Order N Development
JimO'Connor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 12:31 PM   #38
cohiba420
Registered
 
cohiba420's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Posts: 63
so far, so good!

And... THANK YOU!!!!
cohiba420 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 12:34 PM   #39
Derwinator
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2012

Location: Georgetown, TX
Posts: 10
Testing the new build today, I've noticed that key commands (W, B, C, etc) in screen saver mode now exit the saver. Works fine in MA 3. Pressing C turns bubble column on/off (albeit exits when pressed) but pressing B doesn't toggle sound on/off. Apparently, the option for sound effects must be chosen in the Prefs in order to make the toggle work? FPS rate still around 30 in screen saver mode, strangely I can get about 60 FPS when running the application in full screen mode.

Mac OS X Lion 10.7.3 (11D50b)

Thanks for the update.

Darren
Derwinator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 11:01 PM   #40
Endie
Registered
 
Endie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012

Location: Stuttgart/Germany
Posts: 8
Testing new Build Tiger/Leo (PPC) German

Jim: Thanks for new build, but I don't have good news:

I've tested both versions (program & screensaver) on 10.4.11 and 10.5.8 on my PPC Mac (G4 MDD Dual 1,25).

10.5.8: The fish selection is still chaos in screensaver mode (see pic), but changing system language to english fixes the problem. UPDATE: Removing MA3 from Screensaver folder fixes the problem, too!
Program mode is still fine (ok, that's good news of course ).

10.4.11: The options dialog doesn't show up at all neither in screensaver mode nor in program mode. Changing system language to english here doesn't do the trick as it does with Leopard.


Andreas (Endie).
Attached Images
File Type: png fish_selection.png (181.2 KB, 5 views)
Endie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Mac OS X



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.