Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-05-2010, 03:03 PM   #81
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Originally posted by Dale:
JohnWho, while searching for other people who had reported about the multi-monitor things, I found the following which isn't in the readme, and perhaps should be (edited, of course). I had forgotten this.


Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Just to be clear - the freezing of the animation when the left mouse button is held down (when in Window mode) is not a bug or a test. Holding down the left button took the place of the titlebar when it's turned off, so that the window can be dragged by clicking anywhere within it. The action is frozen to avoid frame-buffer ugliness while the window is being dragged.  
Only applies in windowed mode, with the title bar off.  
Got it.

In Windowed Mode, you can left click on the title bar and move the Window around.

Thanks. It's being added even as we "speak".

I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 03:23 PM   #82
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by JohnWho:
In Windowed Mode, you can left click on the title bar and move the Window around.
 
That's kinda "Windows standard". The kicker is that MA3 has an option to not have the title bar on the window. So, now what? Left-click in the window, of course.

That's undoubtedly what you meant to type.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 03:35 PM   #83
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Yeah, that's what you should have understood that you thought I said!
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 07:11 PM   #84
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,326
Originally posted by Dale:
Ralph, do you see the same windowed-mode frame-rate syndrome that Cliff sees?  
Yes, the instant a single line of pixels shows on the second monitor the fps drop to ~16 ish. The "frame" around the windowed MA3 can be in the second monitor without affecting the frame rate.
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 07:20 PM   #85
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,326
Originally posted by Dale:
C:\Program Files\SereneScreen\Marine Aquarium 3\readme.txt

And obviously, if you can't find it, then the "visibility" needs to be improved.

Thanks, JohnWho!  
I guess that because I have not run an installer version for some time I do not have a read me file. I have no entry under Program Files for MA3. But.. just a comment if this is in fact where the read me lives.. Is this folder not hidden for most users? Not the first place one would look..

Just a suggestion... but I would make the read me (lets call it a user manual) into a html web page and either embed it into the program or as a separate file but in either case a button on the Marine Aquarium settings page to display it. Perhaps next to the "Visit Website" or the trial equivalent.
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2010, 10:03 PM   #86
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by Ralph:
I guess that because I have not run an installer version for some time I do not have a read me file. I have no entry under Program Files for MA3. But.. just a comment if this is in fact where the read me lives.. Is this folder not hidden for most users? Not the first place one would look..  
I'm guessing that you UNinstalled MA3 at some point. The Uninstaller deletes the C:\Program Files\SereneScreen\Marine Aquarium 3\ folder (3 or 4 files), and also deletes MarineAquarium3.scr from the \Windows\System32\ folder - and that's about all that it does.

The 10d Installer asks (the normal install dialog) where to "install" MA3, and by default puts the readme.txt, the 2 Uninstaller files, and one or two other non-essential things there. Of course, you can tell the installer to "install the program" wherever you please.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 08:10 PM   #87
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
JohnWho, is there a section in the guide to describe what CTRL-R does?
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 08:17 PM   #88
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Yes.

So far I've got:

MouseExit = FALSE;
AlwaysTop = FALSE;
TitleBar = TRUE;
ShowCrystal = TRUE;
Autopan = TRUE;
PanSpeed = 0.3;
CurrentBGSet = 0;
TopColor = default color;
BottomColor = default color;
BubbleSound =FALSE;
Music =TRUE;
Volume =1500;
MusicVolume =1500;
CurrentFishSet = 0;
NumFishSets = 1;
CycleFishSets = FALSE;
Drawbubbles = TRUE;
EyePt = 3.6, 1.01, -20.0;
CurrentLogo =0;
FrameRate = 60
LimitFrameRate = FALSE
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 09:32 PM   #89
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by JohnWho:
CurrentFishSet = 0;
NumFishSets = 1;
CycleFishSets = FALSE;  
CurrentFishSet=0 means "Whatever fish set is the first in your list of fish sets"
I have no idea what NumFishSets does. Jim?
Comments: (1) I don't understand why CycleFishSets should be set to False; (2) Ctrk-R is "Reset all to default settings", and just changing CurrentFishSet and NumFishSets really isn't setting the fish to "default". If it doesn't change the actuall fish selections/settings, then I suggest not messing with it at all.

Originally posted by JohnWho:
FrameRate = 60
LimitFrameRate = FALSE  
That's incorrect for 11k. Neither of those are changed by CTRL-R.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 01:41 AM   #90
AKcrab
Registered
 
AKcrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Posts: 233
Originally posted by JohnWho:
Yes.

So far I've got:

MouseExit = FALSE;
AlwaysTop = FALSE;
TitleBar = TRUE;
ShowCrystal = TRUE;
Autopan = TRUE;
PanSpeed = 0.3;
CurrentBGSet = 0;
TopColor = default color;
BottomColor = default color;
BubbleSound =FALSE;
Music =TRUE;
Volume =1500;
MusicVolume =1500;
CurrentFishSet = 0;
NumFishSets = 1;
CycleFishSets = FALSE;
Drawbubbles = TRUE;
EyePt = 3.6, 1.01, -20.0;
CurrentLogo =0;
FrameRate = 60
LimitFrameRate = FALSE  
LOL! That's the explanation in the "readme"? Isn't the readme supposed to be for my grandma?
AKcrab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 05:53 AM   #91
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,637
Yes, it should probably be something like, "CTRL-R resets most of the options to their default state."
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 06:29 AM   #92
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
@ AKcrab -

Either you or your grandma are welcome to develop and submit what you feel is appropriate as a "readme". Then I'll sit back and pick it apart and "LOL" at you.

All I provided was the list which I believe is complete regarding what is "reset".

@Jim -

FWIW, this is the entire "CTRL-R" section which follows the descriptions of the Hotkeys where CTRL-R is described "CTRL-R - Restore default settings":


TECH NOTE - Be careful. "CTRL-R" Restores Marine Aquarium to essentially the same as it was the first time you installed it. You will not lose your saved Fish "tanks", Background Color Sets, Music Playlist, or clock/Logo Playlist. The following values are reset to their default settings:

MouseExit = FALSE;
AlwaysTop = FALSE;
TitleBar = TRUE;
ShowCrystal = TRUE;
Autopan = TRUE;
PanSpeed = 0.3;
CurrentBGSet = 0;
TopColor = default color;
BottomColor = default color;
BubbleSound =FALSE;
Music =TRUE;
Volume =1500;
MusicVolume =1500;
CurrentFishSet = 0;
NumFishSets = 1;
CycleFishSets = FALSE;
Drawbubbles = TRUE;
EyePt = 3.6, 1.01, -20.0;
CurrentLogo =0;
FrameRate = 60
LimitFrameRate = FALSE

I believe by mentioning this as a "TECH" note, those people with technically inclined grandmas will appreciate the additional information.

It is not my intention to submit the entire Readme file on this board for evaluation. If that is what Jim chooses to do, that's up to him.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2010, 08:30 AM   #93
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Fair enough - I wasn't intending to look a gift horse in the mouth.

I'm rather sure you can't fix the documentation for every unannounced (and perhaps unintentional) change in behavior.

FrameRate = 60
LimitFrameRate = FALSE

Both of those are incorrect for the current version (11k). That's all I can say about them.

Other items may also be incorrect (or may deliberately change based on comments, or inadvertantly due to code changes).
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:31 PM   #94
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,637
John has turned in the readme file, so I'll be going through it and making wahtever minor changes are necessary. It's good to have such a complete document to start with.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:47 PM   #95
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Originally posted by Dale:
Fair enough - I wasn't intending to look a gift horse in the mouth.

I'm rather sure you can't fix the documentation for every unannounced (and perhaps unintentional) change in behavior.

FrameRate = 60
LimitFrameRate = FALSE

Both of those are incorrect for the current version (11k). That's all I can say about them.

Other items may also be incorrect (or may deliberately change based on comments, or inadvertantly due to code changes).  
Correct.

That was accurate when I posted it, but since then it changed.

Those are some of the things that Jim will need to check.

FWIW - I was changing something in the Readme almost every day during the last week or so.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 03:05 PM   #96
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
John has turned in the readme file, so I'll be going through it and making wahtever minor changes are necessary. It's good to have such a complete document to start with.  
Ah ha!

Now we can't say nobody ever reads the Readme!



As an aside, I know this isn't a pleasant read for Jim. First, there are absolutely no pictures. The character development is very weak, and the narrative is somewhat tedious with often boring repetition. Also, he pretty much knows the plot and the ending won't come as a surprise at all.

On the other hand, it does imply it is from Prolific, so he can always say "wasn't me" and blame them.
I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 02:45 AM   #97
Wizwad
Only me...
 
Wizwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Essex, England
Posts: 2,571
Do you think there'll be a sequel? Maybe introduce some new characters, a plot twist, that sort of thing?
Mark
-----------
Intel i7 930 | Asus P6X58D-E | Corsair DDR3 1600 6GB | Palit 1GB GeForce GTX460 Sonic | Enermax ERV850EWT PSU | 1.5TB WD15EARS | LG BH10LS30 BluRay| Antec 900 Case | Acer Aspire GD245HQ 23.6" | Windows 10 Professional x64
Wizwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 06:09 AM   #98
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Yes, definitely!

Working titles: "Three Two" and "Four Oh"

I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 10:08 AM   #99
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,637
The Readme file, with some editing, has been sent to Prolific. My thanks to John for taking on this tedious task.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 11:53 AM   #100
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
You are most welcome. Jim.

I'm glad to hear what I provided made it a little easier for you overall.

Now, when can we expect MA 4.0?


Just kidding.

I know you think you understand what you thought I said,
but I'm not sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant!
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.