Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-29-2009, 04:45 PM   #101
Rob62
Registered
 
Rob62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
3 Highscores

Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 62
Originally posted by JamesGreystone:
Ah I remember the days when WWW was just a myth, it was all text and newsgroups. You went to a store to make purchases. Now it's insane, making purchases from the Iphone, Web sites secure not secured. Sometime I miss the simpler days......  

You and I both - Sometimes in SO many ways... including when a man's worth was judged by his actions and what was in his heart, verses now - when the only judgment seems to come from what he has in his pocketbook - regardless of how he has obtained it...
POSITIVE MORALS EVERYONE!!
~ God Bless ALL ~ Rob
Rob62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2009, 05:11 PM   #102
Andrew Jenkins
Registered
 
Join Date: Dec 2007

Location: London
Posts: 18
Works fine for me...

OS Name Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium
Version 6.0.6001 Service Pack 1 Build 6001
Other OS Description Not Available
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer TOSHIBA
System Model EQUIUM P200
System Type X86-based PC
Processor Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2080 @ 1.73GHz, 1733 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
BIOS Version/Date TOSHIBA V1.40, 26/04/2007
SMBIOS Version 2.4
Windows Directory C:\Windows
System Directory C:\Windows\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume2
Locale United Kingdom
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "6.0.6001.18000"
Installed Physical Memory (RAM) 1.00 GB
Total Physical Memory 0.99 GB
Available Physical Memory 280 MB
Total Virtual Memory 2.23 GB
Available Virtual Memory 890 MB
Page File Space 1.28 GB
Andrew Jenkins is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 01:39 AM   #103
Rainyfly
Registered
 
Rainyfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007

Location: Australia
Posts: 31
Hi Jim,

The installer worked fine on my laptop with Vista. I hadn't put 2.6 or any of the beta versions on this machine, so it was a brand new install.

It worked like a bought one!

Many thanks,
Lorraine
Rainyfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 08:18 AM   #104
STEVEPOON
Registered
 
STEVEPOON's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002

Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 41
No problem in Japanese Window XP, too.
STEVEPOON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 09:33 AM   #105
troyb
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2008

Location: North Carolina
Posts: 36
I just bought 3.0 for my sister inlaw no problems works great

windows xp pro s/p 3
radeon 9600 pro

Last edited by troyb; 01-30-2009 at 02:11 PM.
troyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 12:35 PM   #106
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
I would like to test the latest version of the installer. I'm willing to purchase the MA3 upgrade to do that, if it has a different (later) installer than Beta8K-with-installer.

Does the version supplied with the upgrade that I can buy from SereneScreen have a "later" installer than the one available for download at http://www.fish-byte.com/images/MarineAquarium3.exe -- or is it exactly the same thing?

[I'm assuming that the $ simulator is identical to Beta8K]
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 12:48 PM   #107
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,628
Yes, the official version at SereneScreen.com is Beta8k, identical to the version at my site (which I'm removing - thanks for reminding me).
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 01:18 PM   #108
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Hi gang

First of all thank you all for being so diligent in testing as well as helping me work out any issues with the installer. Yes I am the one responsible for it be it good or bad.

Sorry for taking so long to get back to answering issues here...my Mother has been in CCU/ICU for the last week and was just removed from life support yesterday. Not because it's all over but because she is actually recovering, although slowly.

I will go to the beginning of this thread and answer anything I can. Sorry if I repeat an answer that Jim or others may have already provided.

I know for a fact (as I have done it myself many times building the installer)
1) Vista 64 has issues. Most are due to the way it was designed by MS. Vista will battle any "over-rides" we try unless we toggle security and elevate the user. I do not like that idea so there is an additional step required by the user. It is simple.
2) If you see any unexpected results it is usually because of a previous installation that is hiding or stuck in the registry. I will help everyone that has this problem seeing I have done it myself. In most cases the installer will clean all previous installations when uninstalled.
3) For anyone playing with Windows 7 Beta...it works great! Microsoft is listening to customer complaints about Vista in general and I for one will upgrade to Win 7 once released.
Mark
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 01:27 PM   #109
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
One more thing gang...a biggie
Depending on which beta version you have used ever, search your drive!

1) *.scr
2) *.lst

The search mechanism in Windows is not what it once was so it may not be completely accurate.
If you have unexpected results one of the old versions is lingering. The play list has been moved and all registry settings are based on the CURRENT scr name.

Any questions just ask!
Mark
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 01:58 PM   #110
henemly
asdf
 
henemly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Location: Hiko, CommieFagnia
Posts: 275
Thanks for the info, Mark. Glad yer Mother is doing better.
http://www.coltrain.byethost8.com
henemly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 02:48 PM   #111
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Dale,
Please let me know if I miss any of your previous questions as I will cut to the chase..

The term "upgrade" may not have been the best and I agree is misleading. MA3 is NOT an "upgrade" to 2.6 it is a complete revision. A true upgrade would have a revision number such as 2.6.1 or 2.7 etc.

MA3 is a standalone product with no ties to any previous version. MA3 will run along side of eariler versions and not disrupt them in any way.

The term "upgrade" was used so that anyone falling into the category of free or lower-priced would lock on to the concept and do so. (Please remember, not everyone in the world is a intelligent as the group here. We had to appeal to the masses and help them understand)
The only common factor is that it should install into the same program folder as anything else SereneScreen.
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 03:25 PM   #112
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Originally posted by cjmaddy:
Those looking for this version of MA3 in \Display Properties\Screen Saver, should note that it appears there as SereneScreen Marine Aquarium, NOT Marine Aquarium 3. - I think it would have been better had it been with the other MA savers, and called 'Marine Aquarium 3'.  
It should be MarineAquarium3.
If you see anything else either another version may exist
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 04:09 PM   #113
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Mark, - I have uninstalled then reinstalled Beta8k-with-installer, - I still have no Marine Aquarium 3 in the Display Properties Screen Saver list. Only older MA versions, together with a SereneScreen Marine Aquarium.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 04:39 PM   #114
Xylem
Registered
 
Xylem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003

Location: Belleville, Michigan
Posts: 68
C-

I had that problem, too. If you have Vista 64, it can be solved by right-clicking the MA3 desktop icon and selecting 'Install.' Did it for me, hopefully for you, too.

edit: sorry. I may have misunderstood you. My screensaver list says Serenscreen Marine Aquarium, too. Not Marine Aquarium 3.
Xylem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 04:41 PM   #115
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by markknight:
Dale,
Please let me know if I miss any of your previous questions as I will cut to the chase..

The term "upgrade" may not have been the best and I agree is misleading. MA3 is NOT an "upgrade" to 2.6 it is a complete revision. A true upgrade would have a revision number such as 2.6.1 or 2.7 etc.

MA3 is a standalone product with no ties to any previous version. MA3 will run along side of eariler versions and not disrupt them in any way.

The term "upgrade" was used so that anyone falling into the category of free or lower-priced would lock on to the concept and do so. (Please remember, not everyone in the world is a intelligent as the group here. We had to appeal to the masses and help them understand)
The only common factor is that it should install into the same program folder as anything else SereneScreen.  
Thanks for the verification. I've purchased the "upgrade" and will install it on a few varied systems over the next week or so. I anticipate it will work just fine, but I'll report any glitches, etc.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:00 PM   #116
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Xylem,
This is strange. MarineAquarium3.scr is in my System32 folder, but not present in the Display Properties Screen Saver list. - Right-clicking/installing from the desktop icon, makes no difference. - In the Display Properties Screen Saver list MA3 is called SereneScreen Marine Aquarium
I am using Win2kPro SP4, BTW.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:12 PM   #117
Edgar
Prolific/SereneScreen Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
1 Highscore

Location: Norwalk, CA
Posts: 513
It sounds like Win2K is cutting off the name.
Edgar Tolentino
Prolific Developer

www.prolific.com
www.LifeGlobe.com
Edgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:15 PM   #118
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Check back to Xylem's edit! .... Vista 64 is doing the same.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:39 PM   #119
theOLDone
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2009

Location: north of seattle
Posts: 6
MA3 is a standalone product with no ties to any previous version. MA3 will run along side of eariler versions and not disrupt them in any way.

He's right, I took ma2.5 and ma3 started them both and put them in the window and they ran well sitting next to each other.
theOLDone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2009, 05:51 PM   #120
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Yes. but it's taken an awfully long time, and endless repetition, to convince some that it was so!
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.