Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-01-2010, 06:31 PM   #1
debearly
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2010

Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3
Fish swimming through objects

First off, let me say that I LOVE this application. It is so restful. As a retired software engineer (30 years, in several languages) I also appreciate how much work went into it, and how utterly solid and elegant it is! Rare, these days.

One minor thing (minor for me, at least!): about once every couple of minutes, I believe I'm seeing a fish swim through something. Mostly the sponge, but I've also seen one swim through the top part of the crystal, and also a coral. The offenders have been different species.
I managed to catch one in the act:

My system information:
ASUS K70IC-A1 (laptop)
Intel Core2 Duo P8700 2.53GHz, 4.00 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GT 220M, 1.00 GB
Windows 7 Professional 32-bit
Hardware drivers all current
MA3 version T928.3.0.1953

Let me know if you need any further information.

Thank you for this wonderful app!
debearly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 07:39 PM   #2
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,889
Marine Aquarium 2 did not have any coral pass throughs. Marine Aquarium 3 has a more intricate coral, and allows more fish (up to 30). These two combined lead to the possibility of pass throughs.

It's a known issue (especially with the Elkhorn coral you've pictured) and something Jim does want to fix in the future. For now I might suggest turning down the number of fish.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 08:00 PM   #3
JohnWho
Registered
 
JohnWho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009

Location: Tampa Bay Area, Florida
Posts: 486
Now that he's mentioned it, I see that happen, too.

Simply having less fish fixes it?

Cool - I've give that a try.

Too many fish is a bit distracting, anyway.
JohnWho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 09:38 PM   #4
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,889
Even setting the fish to 1, there's still a chance you'll see passthrus on that Elkhorn coral at the top. That's the weakest point in the space-time continuum.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 04:53 AM   #5
Marian Nichols
~Author~
 
Marian Nichols's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003

Location: Rocky Mount, NC
Posts: 7,431
Originally posted by feldon33:
Even setting the fish to 1, there's still a chance you'll see passthrus on that Elkhorn coral at the top. That's the weakest point in the space-time continuum.  
As long as the fish doesn't get trapped while passing through. That would be bad.

Oh and welcome to the forum. debearly
Marian Nichols is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 08:33 AM   #6
Ex_Brit
Geordie
 
Ex_Brit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004

Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 114
Poor fish...LOL!!
Peter
Toronto, Canada
Ex_Brit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 10:13 AM   #7
debearly
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2010

Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3
There were 16 fish in that particular group, but no biggie. I figured it probably was a known issue, just wanted to be sure.

I've watched fish bump that coral and look startled. Fascinating how fish-like their behaviors are. An incredible engineering feat!

Originally posted by Marian Nichols:
Oh and welcome to the forum. debearly  
Thank you!
debearly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 11:33 AM   #8
Wizwad
Only me...
 
Wizwad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003

Location: Essex, England
Posts: 2,570
And yet, the intention is to improve the fish behaviour, can you believe it?!

Once that's been implemented, debearly, the pass-throughs should be remedied as a consequence.
Mark
-----------
Intel i7 930 | Asus P6X58D-E | Corsair DDR3 1600 6GB | Palit 1GB GeForce GTX460 Sonic | Enermax ERV850EWT PSU | 1.5TB WD15EARS | LG BH10LS30 BluRay| Antec 900 Case | Acer Aspire GD245HQ 23.6" | Windows 10 Professional x64
Wizwad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 10:07 AM   #9
Time Crystal Pilot
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2008

Posts: 46
In MA3 for MS Windows, if I deselect 'Show Crystal' in 'Program Settings', then re-enable the crystal in 'Clock & Logo', then go back to the screensaver without restarting the program, the likelihood of fish passing through the crystal --right through the center of the clock, as if it wasn't there at all-- seems greatly increased. Or is it just my imagination?
Time Crystal Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 10:29 AM   #10
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,596
You're right, it's a genuine bug. I'll fix it on the next build.

A temp workaround is to just exit and re-start the program after turning the crystal back on.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 05:13 PM   #11
alphaacres
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2004

Posts: 21
The Lion Fish also has a hole in his chin that you can see thru
alphaacres is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2012, 06:30 PM   #12
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,306
Originally posted by alphaacres:
The Lion Fish also has a hole in his chin that you can see thru  
That is the hole left by the hook when Jim caught it.
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 08:32 AM   #13
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Originally posted by Ralph:
That is the hole left by the hook when Jim caught it.  
I assumed the fish had had a recent tracheotomy.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2012, 10:17 AM   #14
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,596
I'll fix it on the next update.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 01:24 PM   #15
henemly
asdf
 
henemly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Location: Hiko, CommieFagnia
Posts: 275
My lions all have solid jaws, must to a to low res condition on mine.
http://www.coltrain.byethost8.com
henemly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2012, 11:19 PM   #16
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,306
Originally posted by henemly:
My lions all have solid jaws, must to a to low res condition on mine.  
The "hole" is on the bottom side of the lion fish mouth, hard to see unless you cheat a bit. The fish has to be facing (or going away) and tilted so you can see the underside. In the picture you can see the green of the coral through this hole. Actually under the right lion fish position there is a hole around the entire dorsal fin as well. Neither worth fixing in my opinion.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg LionFish.jpg (93.3 KB, 34 views)
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.