Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2009, 09:45 PM   #1
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Marine Aquarium 3 Beta INSTALLER test

We are getting very close to releasing Marine Aquarium 3 to the public.

We have produced an Installer for Marine Aquarium 3 Beta 8k which we would like everyone to take a look at and test out.

Note that it will NOT accept any 2.6 keycodes and we are no generating Marine Aquarium 3 keycodes at this time. So to test it out, please use the TESTFISH key.


Download Marine Aquarium 3 Beta 8k with Installer (link updated)


I covered this in another thread, but yes - MA3 will need its own Key Code. Anyone who paid full price for MA2.6 on the website since last August will be able to simply log onto the site and get a free MA3 Key by email. Anyone participating in this Beta Test Forum will be able to get one, though Customer Service will need to handle that. And of course, you few who have been with us for the better part of a decade will be entitled to a free upgrade.

None of the mechanisms for getting the new Key Codes are in place yet. This new download is for those who'd like to test the new installer and behavior of MA3 in its unregistered form. For a while, the version at the normal download location (which has no installer) will continue to accept MA2.6 Key Codes.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 10:54 PM   #2
Socrates
Sage
 
Socrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001

Location: West Hills, CA
Posts: 1,529
Is it normal that it wiped out my registration key?
Bat rays? We don't need no stinking bat rays!
Socrates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 10:56 PM   #3
Socrates
Sage
 
Socrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001

Location: West Hills, CA
Posts: 1,529
Check that. Didn't wipe it out. It will not accept a 2.6 code.
Bat rays? We don't need no stinking bat rays!
Socrates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 11:06 PM   #4
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Correct. This is extremely close to the real release.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 11:12 PM   #5
Socrates
Sage
 
Socrates's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001

Location: West Hills, CA
Posts: 1,529
OK. So then that's "by design". Will Prolific be sending us out new codes or something?

BTW, It's looking awesome.
Bat rays? We don't need no stinking bat rays!
Socrates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2009, 11:55 PM   #6
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
I covered this in another thread, but yes - MA3 will need its own Key Code. Anyone who paid full price for MA2.6 on the website since last August will be able to simply log onto the site and get a free MA3 Key by email. Anyone participating in this Beta Test Forum will be able to get one, though Customer Service will need to handle that. And of course, you few who have been with us for the better part of a decade will be entitled to a free upgrade.

None of the mechanisms for getting the new Key Codes are in place yet. This new download is for those who'd like to test the new installer and behavior of MA3 in its unregistered form. For a while, the version at the normal download location (which has no installer) will continue to accept MA2.6 Key Codes.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 01:52 AM   #7
PetervH
Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2006

Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5
I removed the old MA3Beta.scr from my windos directory and installed with the installer.

When i try to run MA3 as a screensaver it tells mee that the beta has expired.
Restarting the screensaver settings screen the MA3 entrance has disapeared

Starting MA3 as an application works normal after entering TESTFISH.

I am using Vista 64 Utimate

Peter
PetervH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 02:23 AM   #8
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Vista 64 gives us nothing but trouble.
If you get the message "Beta has expired" then there's an old Beta version still hiding in your system somewhere. It could be in a System32 or SysWOW directory. Try to find it and delete it.

After that, right-click on the new MA3 icon which the installer has (hopefully) placed on your desktop. Choose "Install", and you should be able to install it as your screensaver.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 05:32 AM   #9
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Seems to be working fine here so far, on Win2k. - Starts up without the Statistics and with working AltLogo, in both modes, (application and screen saver), and with just the one copy of AltLogo.png and MA3Playlist.lst in... :\Documents and Settings\My Name\Application Data\Marine Aquarium 3

I didn't remove anything first, I just "installed" it, and everything ran smoothly. ... (Apart from the endless 'TESTFISH', )
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 06:31 AM   #10
PetervH
Registered
 
Join Date: Aug 2006

Location: Netherlands
Posts: 5
Jim,

Thanx for your advise. It is working now.

Peter
PetervH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 07:52 AM   #11
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,893
I've stickied this topic and added an announcement to Jim's initial post.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 07:53 AM   #12
Cobra
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Germany, Bamberg
Posts: 13
At the end of the installation process when i uncheck "Set Marine Aquarium 3 as default Screen Saver" and finish, Marine Aquarium 3 can not be set as a screensaver in display properties, it doesn't show up at all. Guess what OS? Windows Vista (64bit). On my Laptop with Windows XP installation works fine that way.
Cobra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:19 AM   #13
StuDisney
Registered
 
StuDisney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007

Location: WDW/Orlando Fl.
Posts: 44
Originally posted by cjmaddy:
Seems to be working fine here so far, on Win2k. - Starts up without the Statistics and with working AltLogo, in both modes, (application and screen saver), and with just the one copy of AltLogo.png and MA3Playlist.lst in... :\Documents and Settings\My Name\Application Data\Marine Aquarium 3

I didn't remove anything first, I just "installed" it, and everything ran smoothly. ... (Apart from the endless 'TESTFISH', )  
SAME HERE
I let in run for an hour or so with no problems, ran "uninstall" and it reverted bake to the bata.

look like installer is working fine
"Our greatest natural resource is the minds of our children."

“Growing Old is Mandatory - Growing Up Is Optional”
StuDisney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:51 AM   #14
loub516
Registered
 
loub516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002

Location: Savannah, Ga.
Posts: 421
Tried the AltLogo.png in the Appdata MA3 folder and the Serene Screen Ma3 folder still nothing happens when I press the L key using the 8K with installer version.

Installer worked great. XP Pro SP3. I am however showing two MarineAquarium3 entries in the screen saver tab of display properties. There is only one MarineAquarium3 entry in the system32 folder and no MA3 entry.
LB
loub516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:52 AM   #15
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Those looking for this version of MA3 in \Display Properties\Screen Saver, should note that it appears there as SereneScreen Marine Aquarium, NOT Marine Aquarium 3. - I think it would have been better had it been with the other MA savers, and called 'Marine Aquarium 3'.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 08:57 AM   #16
Highlander
Registered
 
Highlander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Antwerp - Belgium
Posts: 87
Installer works fine on xp pro (dutch) sp3

Music no problem at all
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups !
Highlander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:15 AM   #17
rps
Registered
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Posts: 57
No problems here. (Vista Ultimate on Dell XPS M1530; Note: UAC disabled)

~Ralph S.
rps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:34 AM   #18
loub516
Registered
 
loub516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002

Location: Savannah, Ga.
Posts: 421
I uninstalled it through add remove programs. There were no entries for MarineAquarium3 in the display properties screensaver tab. Re-installed it, there were two entries again.
LB
loub516 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:37 AM   #19
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Cobra - try right-clicking the icon and choosing "Install". This step seems to be necessary in Vista 64.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2009, 09:46 AM   #20
Nicki
Sugar Plum Fairy
 
Nicki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008

Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,267
No problems for me . With XP Home . It went in and came back out perfectly . I just moved my other Beta to the recycle bin for the duration of testing .
Nicki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.