Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-21-2008, 03:26 PM   #1
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,321
Another "Vista" thing

NOT... blaming the SS.. However. in trying to see if "always on top" worked on my Vista machine... I have lost all my desktop icons.. to standard default DOS type of boxes... .. and can not get them back... HELP

They have ALL changed.. except the current Beta SS and the recycle bin. Opening properties and physically changing the icon.. will not stick. Changing the size of the icons.. right click desktop>view>large icons.. gives me the proper large icon.. with a copy of the standard default DOS icon imposed over it

(edit) Further investigation makes me think I have a corrupted shortcut arrow icon.. evidently the arrow is an overlay over the regular icon... thus, the SS shortcut which is normal is that way only because it is not really a shortcut but the actual program on my desktop.. (curses vista) but the fix has not been found yet...

Last edited by Ralph; 12-21-2008 at 05:31 PM.
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 05:48 PM   #2
Derrek
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Posts: 186
I've had problems with icons in Vista before not related to this screensaver. You can refresh them following one of these methods listed here:
http://www.whizblaze.com/vista/icons/
Derrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 06:05 PM   #3
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Ralph, - have you tried 'Rebuild Icons' in the 'Repair' tab of TweakUI ? ... (But I'm not sure if there is a Vista version of TweakUI !)
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 06:13 PM   #4
Derrek
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Posts: 186
Sadly there is no TweakUI for Vista from Microsoft.
Derrek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 06:46 PM   #5
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,321
Originally posted by Derrek:
I've had problems with icons in Vista before not related to this screensaver. You can refresh them following one of these methods listed here:
http://www.whizblaze.com/vista/icons/  
Thanks Derrek.. have tried the two common approaches.. change the number of colors on the desktop and deleting the icon cache.. neither seem to resolve my problem.
I do think it is related to a corrupt "arrow" icon and I found a registry hack that will place a transparent icon instead of the regular one. Will have to wait a bit though.. currently doing a update of Vista... 48 updates.. Not one to do this often enough

And a tweakUI would be perfect... if there was one
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 07:32 PM   #6
celine
Special Assistant
 
celine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005

Location: back to home.......
Posts: 1,275
Try this "TweakVista":http://www.stardock.com/products/tweakvista/

Or the tips for Vista:http://www.neowin.net/forum/index.php?showtopic=499870

Note : on the Neowin site,there was a file "RemoveArrow.zip",please download it,a RestoreArrow.reg and remove Blank.ico from your Windows directory were inside.
Kanebo--woman's first choice.
celine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 07:51 PM   #7
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,893
http://www.winvistaclub.com/Ultimate...s_Tweaker.html
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 10:22 PM   #8
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,321
Thank you.. That seems to have done the trick... at least I was able to put the arrows back on the shortcuts.. {edit} and taking them off works as well
It seems... somehow I (or something else) installed Winbubbles16. It writes a path to a transparent icon that replaces the icon #29 in the Shell32.dll. The folder that this "junk" was in somehow got deleted and thus the registry pointed to a non existing folder. For some reason... one could not modify or delete that entry in the registry..
Very strange... and wasted a good part of my afternoon.

I did try to install the latest version of WinBubbles1.76.. however ran into some suspicious "stuff" when I kept getting "unlockforus".. was preventing writing to the registry.

Anyone have any information on this program or the unlockforus routine? Seems like a scam to me
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 11:04 PM   #9
celine
Special Assistant
 
celine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005

Location: back to home.......
Posts: 1,275
I found this page about "Winbubble":http://www.threatexpert.com/report.a...dbc2a757062d48

Ralph,

I would suggest that get rid of "Winbubble" for good. Some freeware would just brought unknown "goodies'' without telling the end-users,such as Flashget I have mentioned before. Always be cautious and install reliable vendor or source of software only.

Anything try to "preventing you writing to the registry" is bad,unless you youself allow that,not even on antivirus or firewall software.
Kanebo--woman's first choice.
celine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 11:09 PM   #10
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,321
Thanks... I had a bad feeling about it. Still do not know how it initially got on my system?
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2008, 11:21 PM   #11
celine
Special Assistant
 
celine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005

Location: back to home.......
Posts: 1,275
Hmm,maybe it automatically installed while you surfing some poison websites. In Taiwan these 3 days,my sis' Norton antivirus been stopped 3 malicious rogue wares in this way,such as "Antivirus2008/2009" or asking install some codes before you can see the Youtube-like flash video.

But..."Winbubble",have no idea either. Some sites did host it,but its freeware.....there are much more tool better than it anyway. As Morgan's "Ultimate Windows Tweaker' and mine's "TweakVista".
Kanebo--woman's first choice.
celine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.