Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-10-2008, 01:47 PM   #81
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,893
Here's the Marine Aquarium 3 Registry Cleaner script. It should leave MA1, 2, and 2.6 behind.

I also posted a fish picker cleaner script in the announcement/release thread.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 03:39 PM   #82
DaleArden
carbon based unit
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Location: Canada
Posts: 24
Not sure where this puts me in the debate , but precisely because of Marine Aquarium and Dream Aquarium , I'm thinking about getting a second monitor . Right now , I have to use a CRT tv for the second screen , which is neat to the unitinitiated ( ie my family ) , but after buying a graphics card for my old desktop and seeing what an improvement that made I find that I want more . Just waiting for the boxing day sales to get the best possible deal . I'll need advice of course , and will post in the appropriate thread .

P.S. Jim , spiders ... nasty . Although I get them when I'm asleep .
DaleArden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 03:52 PM   #83
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
I was asleep - I just didn't realize it until I looked at my code this morning.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 05:02 PM   #84
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
I've added a few features and fixed a few bugs. Would you guys like me to upload the changes now or wait until I've done some more before releasing Beta6?

Changes include:
1. A hard-coded font for the Fishpicker interface which SHOULD fix the unintended re-sizing of the fish chart.
2. Added a PanSpeed control, which is remembered. AutoPan On/Off is also remembered.
3. Added a Window Reset Location feature. Whenever the window gets too far off-screen to grab, just press CTRL-C to bring it back to the upper-left corner.
4. Another experiment to fix the "bubble sound starts loud" problem. It works here, but so did the old way.
5. Changed the Aquarium window behavior so that passing the mouse over it won't grab focus.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium

Last edited by Jim Sachs; 11-12-2008 at 11:45 AM.
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 06:37 PM   #85
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
For me? - wait until you've done some more.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 09:40 PM   #86
troyb
Registered
 
Join Date: Mar 2008

Location: North Carolina
Posts: 36
I agree waite until you have done some more and you are ready
troyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 10:01 PM   #87
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
It's really hard to judge, when most of us don't have any clue about how many things are on your "to do" list - or indeed how many pages there are for that list.

I think I would prefer to see some "major feature" in the next Beta release - but I'm not qualified to judge because I don't have good information.

So, I would say that you should release Beta versions when you think it's the right time.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 07:06 AM   #88
StuDisney
Registered
 
StuDisney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007

Location: WDW/Orlando Fl.
Posts: 44
I think there should be at least a week between beta releases, so that we all have enough time to see if there are any problems
"Our greatest natural resource is the minds of our children."

“Growing Old is Mandatory - Growing Up Is Optional”
StuDisney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 07:26 AM   #89
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
At this stage of testing, a day or so is usually more than enough.
Now that, "5: Window behaviour", has been added to the list, and if the bezel adjustment is still causing problems, then a 5b Beta might be appropriate?
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 07:38 AM   #90
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,664
The 5a designator was my doing when I made the post. It made sense to me at the time since it had to do with the same beta, only partly removed, and Jim didn't rename the file anyhow. So I needed some way to distinguish them.

Jim get's the privilege of naming the files, I just had to change it slightly in that instance.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 08:31 AM   #91
Tarkus
Shark Bytes
 
Tarkus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005

Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 156
Yeah, I say one/week is plenty, so I don't mind waiting for the normal schedule.
Tarkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 11:10 AM   #92
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
I had still named that latest version MA3Beta.zip so that it would replace the broken one of the same name, and no one could accidentally download the wrong one. Once you run it, you'd notice in the Statistics text that it is called 5a.

Regarding the window behavior, several people have suggested that the Aquarium window should never steal focus, and I have been experimenting with this for several hours. They are right - there don't seem to be any real problems, so the change will be in Beta6.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 11:45 AM   #93
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
OK, I decided to upload Beta6 after all. There are several changes (listed above in message 84), and I need to make sure I didn't introduce any new bugs before I move on to working on the crystal.

http://www.fish-byte.com/MA3Beta.zip

In the Program Settings box, there is an item called "Dummy", which is just a place-holder for something which will be added next time. It currently has no function, but if you are a dummy, feel free to checkmark the box
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 01:11 PM   #94
patscarr
Pet Shark
 
patscarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
1 Highscore

Location: Back in Buffalo
Posts: 5,392
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
In the Program Settings box, there is an item called "Dummy", which is just a place-holder for something which will be added next time. It currently has no function, but if you are a dummy, feel free to checkmark the box  
Done!
Patrick
patscarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 01:18 PM   #95
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,664
Nope you're slow, I already did and was wondering what it was for LOL
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 03:44 PM   #96
rctneil
Registered
 
Join Date: Jul 2008

Posts: 239
patscarr, have you got a larger version of your avatar?
rctneil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 04:34 PM   #97
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,893
A Brief Google Search reveals:
http://www.coolsmartphone.com/cooldo...r%20scream.jpg
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 05:14 PM   #98
rps
Registered
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Posts: 57
>>2. ... AutoPan On/Off is also remembered.

This is great, and I love that this has been added, but... would it be possible for it to remember where it is has panned to? eg: I invoke the screen saver, turn off the auto pan, and manually adjust the left-right with the arrow keys; the next time it kicks in, it's not panning, but it's been reset all the way to the left.

Why is this important? I have dual monitors; in the absence of the bevel adjustment, my preferred viewpoint is to pan it to the right until the bezels lie between the cave opening and the pink brain coral. Right at that point, there's almost nothing getting "split", and this minimizes the visual discrepancies caused by the lack of a bevel adjustment. (see attached image) Once I've adjusted it, it would be nice if MA3 could remember that spot.

Thanks,
Ralph S.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg MA3Beta6-bezels.jpg (57.6 KB, 36 views)
rps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 05:18 PM   #99
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
OK.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2008, 11:37 AM   #100
majalid
Registered
 
majalid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008

Posts: 2
MA3 looks amazing on my 22" Samsung T220. It is better than having a real aquarium! Can't wait for new fish models with better AI!

Ideas:
- light rays?
- tiny floating particles (maybe micro bubbles) that appear to be randomly drifting
- reflective, shiny fishes:

(http://www.digifish.us/aquagarden/ag_infor.htm)
majalid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.