Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-01-2009, 11:04 AM   #141
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,893
Originally posted by Dale:
I just ran the installer and have several comments/suggestions to make. Thankfully, I don't have time to write all of them now.

I'll start with the first thing I saw.

When the user tries to run the installer, Microsoft pops up a window announcing that it can't identify the publisher and suggesting that perhaps the user shouldn't continue.

The big problem is that publisher is shown as "Unknown Publisher".

Presuming that Prolific is proud of the product, a certificate is needed to identify the publisher.

[Yes, I know that "most folks" will just click on the "quit bothering me with security" button and go on - but I recommend against beginning the user experience with "sloppy"]  
I'm guessing the Aquarium would have to be registered with Microsoft or something?
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 11:04 AM   #142
henemly
asdf
 
henemly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008

Location: Hiko, CommieFagnia
Posts: 275
The installer is here I think:
https://prolific.s3.amazonaws.com/Ma...eAquarium3.exe
http://www.coltrain.byethost8.com
henemly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 11:05 AM   #143
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,893
Originally posted by Ralph:
Some of this has obviously changed... but is there a link to the current "installer" version.. or.. where does one find "it".. The Prolific site?? this one no longer works.  
I will update the notes.

There will be 1 installer version approximately every month.

However there will be incremental upgrades every few days. Beta 9 for example.

As a long time user of the Aquarium, you already know that the presence or absence of the Installer doesn't affect your use of the Aquarium at all. So I would not really worry about the Installer and just run the latest version.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 11:38 AM   #144
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,321
Thanks... I just wanted to test the "install" and "un-install" feature on a system that does not yet have SS3 on it. When I tried this with the first installer I was disappointed that the "un-install" part did not remove "all" the folders and registry entries. To me this was a bug and I wanted to see if this had been fixed.
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 11:47 AM   #145
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
We had discussed this in another thread, and there was some disagreement about how much should be uninstalled, with different possible users on the machine, etc. I don't really remember the outcome of the discussion, but it's still around somewhere.

I have a hard time staying interested in uninstallers - Uninstall MY program? Why would anyone ever want to do THAT?
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 11:47 AM   #146
Edgar
Prolific/SereneScreen Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
1 Highscore

Location: Norwalk, CA
Posts: 513
The user folders will not be cleaned up at this time and possibly for a long time.

For the registry entries, I just need to tell Mark to set default values for possible registry entries so he can clean them up.
Edgar Tolentino
Prolific Developer

www.prolific.com
www.LifeGlobe.com
Edgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 12:00 PM   #147
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
The current Installer version (of course with probably-older simulator Beta) should be the same as the "free trial" link on the SereneScreen website.

But you should probably wait for confirmation of that, from somebody who actually knows.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 12:03 PM   #148
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by feldon32:
I'm guessing the Aquarium would have to be registered with Microsoft or something?  
Or something. It's a certificate. Prolific knows how to do it.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 01:42 PM   #149
jroseone
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2006

Posts: 93
Just an observation, the settings seem to carry over from the betas to the installed version. (At least on vista 32 it does)

For example if you select the crystal to be visible on beta 9 it is also shown in the installed version, and if you select not to show it in the installed version, it is then not shown in the beta either.

Quick question, once the clocks and calendar are added, will it still rotate through multiple logos, as it did with the MA2 series?
jroseone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 03:47 PM   #150
G600
Registered
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Location: Goirle, Netherlands
Posts: 52
Yes, carry over of settings from Beta9 to installed version and vice versa on WXP sp3 too.
G600 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 04:05 PM   #151
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,893
Originally posted by jroseone:
Just an observation, the settings seem to carry over from the betas to the installed version. (At least on vista 32 it does)  
Early on, different parts of the registry were used for MA3 Betas, but that location has been stable since mid-Beta 7. So unless something drastic changes, settings you put in for fish in Beta 8 and 9 will apply going forward.

There are no clock or logo settings right now as those features are not fully implemented.

Originally posted by jroseone:
Quick question, once the clocks and calendar are added, will it still rotate through multiple logos, as it did with the MA2 series?  
The intention is to add a full logo picker that will officially support PNG files, rather than the unofficial support we had in MA2.6.

Originally posted by G600:
Yes, carry over of settings from Beta9 to installed version and vice versa on WXP sp3 too.  
Beta 8 and Beta 9 use the same part of the registry for settings.

Again, we will see roughly monthly updates of the "Installer" version and incremental updates of just the "download and unzip" version more frequently.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 04:27 PM   #152
jroseone
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2006

Posts: 93
Originally posted by feldon32:
The intention is to add a full logo picker that will officially support PNG files, rather than the unofficial support we had in MA2.6.  
I understand that, I was just curious if multiple logos would be shown in the rotation as it was when you used multiple logos at the same time in the MA2 series.

Thanks!!!
jroseone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 04:38 PM   #153
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Originally posted by Dale:
Sorry, I really thought I was being clear.

On the panel: https://www.prolific.com/store/cart.php?mode=checkout

Where it says:

"New Customers: Want to use PayPal? Click the above button and let Paypal create your account."

Remove the "New Customers" part, and then...

Make it say something like:

"Want to use PayPal? Click the above button to use your existing PayPal Account or let Paypal create your new account."

[Underlines used above just to show where the changes are]  
Outstanding
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 04:44 PM   #154
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,893
Originally posted by jroseone:
I understand that, I was just curious if multiple logos would be shown in the rotation as it was when you used multiple logos at the same time in the MA2 series.  
I hope so. Otherwise that would make me a sad panda.
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 04:48 PM   #155
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,624
Yes, the interface will allow you to choose which logos you want to display, in what order, and for how long.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 04:50 PM   #156
jroseone
Registered
 
Join Date: Feb 2006

Posts: 93
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Yes, the interface will allow you to choose which logos you want to display, in what order, and for how long.  
Cool, sounds awesome!!!

Cheer up Feldon.
jroseone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 05:01 PM   #157
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Originally posted by Edgar:
The user folders will not be cleaned up at this time and possibly for a long time.

For the registry entries, I just need to tell Mark to set default values for possible registry entries so he can clean them up.  
No registry entries remain. The user folder does stay in tact.
All that is left behind is the play list. Even with many songs, it is 1-3kb. Pointers and nothing more. NOT in anyway a duplicate of the song or file size of the given music.

The benefit is that if a user reloads MA3, the music list stays in tact
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 07:52 PM   #158
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
Originally posted by Dale:
I believe that's a valuable suggestion, and it applies also to the FAQ on the SereneScreen site, and elsewhere.

The bottom line would be that, the easier you make it for "joe user" to find out if he/she has the right prerequisites, and THEN the easier you make it for him/her to find and install the latest version, the fewer support problems you will have.

There are lots of alternatives for "where to send them".  
I agree with both of you. The link has been updated by MS since I began work on the installer. My bad, I have not gone back to this in awhile.
In doing so now, I land on the MS Authentic Verification link when using a brand new system.
You people are our eyes and ears in many circumstances. Lets hold a vote
Leave it as is or go direct to the DL?
Direct could result in a user being turned off by MS, an issue they may try to blame on us in a distorted belief we created the issue
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 08:39 PM   #159
markknight
Prolific Team
 
Join Date: Jul 2007

Location: Burbank, Ca
Posts: 21
I will address the certification issue.
MS changed their policy on this right around the release of Vista. While their intentions were good, the outcome was not.

1) Certificates must now be issued by a trusted server owned by the company in question...(easy)
2) Certificates allowed to be trusted fall into a select group of authorities...(humm)
3) If either of the above does not conform, the error is seen
4) Because the installer is an EXE one would assume that is what needs to be trusted..not the case it is the SCR that is inside the EXE AND the EXE (OK)

Is Prolific willing to live with this issue? My recommendation was YES.
We do not send this to you, you come find us.
We do not post on fly-by-night software DL sites...period
Could this result in a loss of sales?
Sure. To certify this straight across the board could cost 20G or better a year.

Please understand folks, this is NOT just a Prolific issue.
Put Norton, Adobe Reader, Quickbooks (pretty big list) on a system that did not come with it originally and watch the warnings fly!
Even if it did, the warnings in Vista and XP SP3 warn you for bigger fish than us on certain upgrades.
You never saw the warning because of the OEM install.
------------

So you all know...
Installers, I am still learning but have been doing the custom builds for coming up on 3 years.
Certs:
A+
MCP
MCSE
MCSA
CCNA
MCDBA

Win7 is far kinder
Mark Knight
MIS Specialist
markknight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2009, 09:29 PM   #160
Dale
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2005

Location: Western Missouri
Posts: 960
Originally posted by markknight:
I will address the certification issue.  
It's clearly for Prolific to decide. I just pointed out the issue.

Originally posted by markknight:
Is Prolific willing to live with this issue? My recommendation was YES.  
When Prolific decides (and somebody tells us), it's no longer an issue.
Dale is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.