Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2008, 08:26 AM   #121
feldon34
Forum Administrator
 
feldon34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Rock Hill, SC
Posts: 10,883
clif, moved your "names of the corals" to a separate thread:
https://www.feldoncentral.com/forums...ead.php?t=4499
"Journalism is printing what someone else does not want printed. Everything else is public relations." - George Orwell
"If voting changed anything, they'd make it illegal." - Emma Goldman
feldon34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 09:05 AM   #122
clifdene
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: UK
Posts: 168
Many thanks. Hope someone has the answer.
clifdene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2008, 02:13 PM   #123
kona001
New Husband and new Aquarium
 
kona001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002

Location: Miami, Florida
Posts: 318
Originally posted by Surferminn:
LeeC22 -- Thank you for posting your frank comments above prompting Jim and Morgan's responses giving me more understanding of what it takes to create one of these things. To me there are currently varying levels or degrees of 3D effects in MA3. Some parts distinctly look more 3D than others. But as you said, this is a work in progress not yet final and more is coming.

I have to say that one has to slow down and watch how the scrolling contributes to the 3D effect by slowly opening up different views and angles of the corals which is a good and healthy thing I think (to slow down) in this fast track world.

Thank you for taking the time to create and put this out here for us to enjoy, Jim, amidst your many other concurrent projects. Not to mention for such reasonable price too. In my opinion there is a level of quality in your work that closely reflects the real thing which I have still not yet seen met or match by others. This is one of the advantage I guess of working as an individual for yourself on a project, that you can take the time it take to produce such quality. Keep up the good work.
 

It is very true what Surferminn is saying above. There is a quality that your screensaver has that no other can claim as you are doing this because it is your passion, what you love to do and not only to make a quick buck or meet a dealine so you have to rush things compromising place of quality. I will look forward to seeing the fish swim into the little cave and perhaps have one or two of them just sit in there as they sometimes like to do.
"We will not tire, we will not falter, and we will not fail"-W2

Last edited by kona001; 10-18-2008 at 10:10 PM.
kona001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2008, 11:32 PM   #124
EVERRET
Leopard Shark
 
EVERRET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
10 Highscores

Location: california
Posts: 115
Thumbs Up MA 3

Just downloaded MA 3.......... Wow, I love it !!

It's taken a while but it is worth the wait.

I have not had any problems running it yet, although when i first started it up it kept going off as soon as it came up. My laser Mouse is so sensitive it was shutting off the aquarium as fast as it started, I finally figured it out and hit the spacebar in time to turn off the Exit on mouse move tab.


I'm not sure I like the bubbles in the front... I think they looked better farther back ?
EVERRET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 04:42 AM   #125
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,655
Before it's over Jim wants to have about 10 options for bubbles placement. I'm hoping for some kind of semi-bubble curtain option for the back of the tank. That would depend on the fps hit I would guess.............
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 05:29 AM   #126
Surferminn
Senior Puddle Jumper
 
Surferminn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
74 Highscores

Location: California
Posts: 6,004
Instead of (or in addition to) the steady stream of bubbles, how about random burps of tiny bubbles here and there now and again throughout the aquarium rising to the top?


Nothing Changes if Nothing Changes.

Surferminn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 06:14 AM   #127
cjmaddy
Registered
 
cjmaddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001

Location: Lancashire, UK
Posts: 7,858
Yes, - something like the 'Bubbles: Random' setting in Dream Aquarium? - Only with smaller bubbles, not the larger DA ones.
cjmaddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 10:50 AM   #128
PaulsPics
Registered
 
PaulsPics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002

Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 71
Hey Jim , I have tried out your M3 in the first trial and again it was looking great in the second issue until today when it Died out ( timed out ? ) I can report that it all worked without any problem but I missed seeing my Logo Crystal with smiley face "Pauls Pics" .
I trialed it with upm to 30 fish laded up, no problems, just a run of the mill computer at 3200 Mgbs , One thing I noticed is that you have missed putting your 'signature' in the sand. Is it possible to keep this last trial running till the next is issued ?? Pretty Please !! its quite stunning and I was glad to see that lovely large Coral again. the one that was on the orignal version 1 way back in 2002. Great work . Thanks Paul in Sydney.
Paul
PaulsPics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2008, 11:01 AM   #129
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,655
The Beta's are set to time out automatically after a certain amount of time. This makes sure that versions don't overlap each other and that everyone is testing the appropriate one at the right time. I am sure Jim will have another version out soon.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 07:58 AM   #130
Jeremy Bruce
Registered
 
Jeremy Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004

Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 8
I have been quietly watching these forums for the past few years. I would like to thank you, Jim for your work and thank the forum regulars who have been so encouraging. Thanks for letting us play with the beta! BTW, it works beautifully on my standard out of the box HP with onboard video.
Jeremy Bruce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 11:48 AM   #131
Splashy
Registered
 
Splashy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008

Location: Israel
Posts: 51
Just wanted to say I'm new here and I'm now addicted to this screen saver
I loved MA2.6 but MA3 is even better, much improved.
I'm running it on my new LG 26" LCD TV and enjoying every minute.
ATI HD 4850, 111 fps at 1280x1024x32
Vista Ultimate 32 bit on 2 monitors (LCD monitor & LCD TV) with UltraMon.
Great job Jim, keep up the good work!
Splashy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 11:51 AM   #132
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,578
Thanks, Splashy.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 09:53 AM   #133
meerupps
Registered
 
meerupps's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002

Location: Marlborough, Massachusetts
Posts: 10
Smile Amazing!!! Just one Question...(Isn't there always?)

Jim, with all the people you have encountered , you likely won't remember us, except my wifes maiden name is also Sachs and she hailed from San Diego...

Ok, I am running a Quad core twin monitor system (Soon to be 3 or 4) and all is perfect!

No Bugs to report, 120fps (approx) on both monitors, simply perfect.

The one question, and I MAY be jumping the Gun, but am very curious...

Will the Clocks be coming back? Clocks / Logos?

I ask because we have always used yours as our default since day one.
I even programmed my business logo into the crystal for all of my clients to see.

No hurry, just curious. And by the way, even unfinished - It was worth the wait.

Abundant Thanks for the effort.

Brian & Kathy

Brian & Kathy Sachs Stevens
Stevens Design Ltd
85 Dean Road
Marlborough, MA 01752
508-251-1410
meerupps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 10:14 AM   #134
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,655
That will be returning in a later update.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 11:24 AM   #135
Simple Steve
Registered
 
Simple Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006

Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 25
I'm just curious if Mr. Sachs has the new fish behavior and movement models and all of that set to go and is just waiting to fix operational bugs before adding them in, or is he waiting to write that code until after he's sure of a stable environment?
Friends don't let friends eat carp.
Simple Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 02:46 PM   #136
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,578
Brian and Kathy - welcome back.

Steve - I still have to write that code. After we get out of Beta testing, my first job will be to bring the simplest background objects to life - the ones which simply sway in the current. The new fish behavior will be the second task.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 02:56 AM   #137
Falz
Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2003

Location: Australia
Posts: 118
Can I enable vsync? Can't find the registry key that was present in 2.6.

I could force it in the driver but would prefer it was in the aquarium (with triple buffering for older machines ideally).
Falz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2008, 07:20 PM   #138
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,578
I haven't looked into putting vsync into the program yet.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 01:16 AM   #139
Falz
Registered
 
Join Date: Apr 2003

Location: Australia
Posts: 118
You've got a panning background now, you'd probably want vsync lol.
Falz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2008, 08:14 AM   #140
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,578
Anyone can just turn it on in their driver sheet.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.