Home Register Arcade Gallery Chatroom Members Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Log In
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows
Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-01-2016, 10:29 AM   #141
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,578
It did.

The head of Roku, Anthony Wood, is an old friend of mine from the Amiga days. About a year ago he asked if he could use MA as the Roku screensaver. It took some doing for his guys to translate it to Linux, but they finally got it working, at least on their high-end machines. As part of the deal, I owe them 160 hours per year of work to maintain and improve it. The best scenario would be to completely rewrite it in Unity. That way, we'd double the performance on their machines, so that it might run on their lower-end units. Unity would also allow for a lot of things I've always wanted to do, like fish schooling, solid collision avoidance, and interaction with background objects. If my family situation ever gets resolved, this might happen.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 08:42 AM   #142
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,655
Jim,

Just so you have a reference.......................

The android version is now working again for me.

There is a problem with the starfish and Harvey, neither one are there

The settings are checked for each but they do not show up, even in wire-frame mode. So they are not there period. This has been posted on the phone reviews by others, so I am assuming it is a known problem at this point and is being worked on.

The new interface looks good to me overall. The choices work well except for maybe the slider for choosing how many of each fish, it is sort of a hit an miss type scenario for getting the number of fish you want, but that's minor.

The description on the eel needs some work tho. They list the size as "< 4.5 inches ", while that's true its also kind of like describing an 18 wheeler as a little bit larger than a car. Average length for the species is ~ 20-24 inches and they can reach 5 feet in length.

I'll look through other items as I get a chance.

Nice to see it working again.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2016, 09:33 AM   #143
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,578
Thanks Michael. We can't figure out why some people see the eel and starfish and some don't. This is just one of a thousand non-reproducible problems that have slowed the production of the Android version for a year.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 02:58 PM   #144
Cyrust
Registered
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
9 Highscores

Posts: 6
Finally working on my LG Nexus 5, minus Harvey and the Starfish. Harvey and the Starfish, that sounds like a musical group. At least it's working and looks great.
Cyrust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2016, 12:01 AM   #145
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,578
Still don't have a clue why some people don't see the eel and starfish.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2016, 05:03 AM   #146
Time Crystal Pilot
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2008

Posts: 46
Reports (demo version)

Starfish and eel sliders default to "1", don't lock to "0" (they slide back to "1"). So it looks like they're supposed to be "always on", but in fact, they are always off (no eel or starfish visible).
Vertical camera positioning is gone :-(
There's a small hole in the geometry at the top of the cave (horizontal, mostly white line).
When fish are set "all none", further holes can be seen at the far left of the tank.
Caustics do not seem to affect the fish, but at least they no longer look like a cheap fake now.
Fish swimming through objects still seems to be a problem (especially in the area above the cave entrance.)
Orientation flip in wallpaper mode may be unintentional (but I like it!)
Many thanks for bringing this back for Android version 5!
Time Crystal Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2016, 08:05 AM   #147
patscarr
Pet Shark
 
patscarr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
1 Highscore

Location: Back in Buffalo
Posts: 5,388
Originally posted by Jim Sachs:
Still don't have a clue why some people don't see the eel and starfish.  
Couldn't we do some kind of test/experiment here on the forum to help try and figure this out.

Record makes and models of phone and other installed apps. Most of the time I've heard that problems usually arise from incompatible apps running on the same phone.
Patrick
patscarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2016, 10:55 AM   #148
Edgar
Prolific/SereneScreen Developer
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
1 Highscore

Location: Norwalk, CA
Posts: 513
For those people that do not see the eel and starfish:

Are you using PRO or Free version?
Did you update from previous version or install from scratch?
Edgar Tolentino
Prolific Developer

www.prolific.com
www.LifeGlobe.com
Edgar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2016, 12:59 PM   #149
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,655
Edgar,

Mine is the pro version and it updated.

Phone is a Galaxy S4 running 5.0.1
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 12:15 PM   #150
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,302
I D/L the app (very hard to find) a couple of days ago. Installed on my Galaxy Tab2 and it runs just fine. I am confused though.. When I start it I have an option to buy or use the free version.. BUT.. it seems ALL the fish including Harvey and the starfish show up on "my" free version.
Seems I read in a recent post that those that have paid versions on their PC's get the paid version as well ?? is this why I get ALL the fish??
And.. how does one get to the "settings"? I have a Logitech KB attached to my tablet but the only key that does anything is the escape key which then asks if I want to exit.

Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889 1951)
The limits of my language are the limits of my mind. All I know is what I have words for.
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 12:20 PM   #151
Jav400
Administrator
 
Jav400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
22 Highscores

Location: Tennessee
Posts: 9,655
Ralph,

I have no idea if this is the case, but it could be that you cant get to the settings unless it is a paid version.

As far as how, press on the screen with your finger.
Jav400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 12:27 PM   #152
Ralph
Retired
 
Ralph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
1 Highscore

Location: Edmonton Alberta Ca
Posts: 2,302
Just.. figured t out. Seems that when the keyboard is attached (Bluetooth) touching the sceen does nothing.. except you can pinch to zoom in.
With the key board not attached touching the screen brings up the settings... BUT.. the first time I did that I could not.. get out of wireframe....... Had to power Tablet down. I could not repeat that though.. next time it worked as one would expect

Ludwig Wittgenstein (1889 1951)
The limits of my language are the limits of my mind. All I know is what I have words for.
Ralph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2016, 06:36 PM   #153
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,578
Ha ha - thanks, Ralph. I'm not sure anyone ever thought about what would happen if you attached a keyboard.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 11:34 AM   #154
Time Crystal Pilot
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2008

Posts: 46
My report above was about the Prolific trial version, updated from Acrodea's trial version.
Today I uninstalled the trial version, then installed the paid version.
Both the starfish and eel showed up without further ado. Both switches are functional in the paid version.
I then uninstalled the paid version again and re-installed the trial version. Now both the starfish and eel are visible in the trial version, both switches functional. In fact, now I don't see a difference between the trial and the paid version, except that the paid version requested full network access for some reason.
Time Crystal Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2016, 11:58 AM   #155
Time Crystal Pilot
Registered
 
Join Date: Jan 2008

Posts: 46
Zooming trouble

Currently, a pinch gesture zooms in on the center of the screen. That's unfortunate. There's a lot of empty space at the top of the screen, while the carefully designed scenery got its feet cut away.
Also, if I remember correctly, the Acrodea version did not cut away the left and right margins of the tank when zoomed in.
Time Crystal Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2016, 11:20 PM   #156
Jim Sachs
Developer
 
Jim Sachs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000

Location: Southern Oregon
Posts: 9,578
Thanks - that confirms what Michael had found. As far as the trial version goes, I think once it's paid, the trial version acts like the Pro version. I'm not sure about that, as I didn't write these versions.
Jim Sachs
Creator of SereneScreen Aquarium
Jim Sachs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Go Back   Inside: SereneScreen Fan Forum > SereneScreen Products > Marine Aquarium 3 for Windows



Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.